Past couple weeks


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Cádiz
April 11th 2011
Published: April 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

sagrada familia
Well first of all…(one of :P) my best friends, dianna came to visit me 2 weeks ago! It was so nice and amazing! We went to Barcelona together and had a blast running around sagrada familia and just having a goodd time together. The weather was perfect in cadiz so we went to the beach almost everyday! I couldn’t have asked for anything better than seeing her! I was getting a little homesick and then here comes dianna but not only bringing herself, but bearing gifts from America! Pb m&ms girl scout cookies, America products: burts bees (very crucial) it was like Christmas in march! Loved it. I wish I could have all my friends and family here and then it would be perfect!
Last weekend we went to Granada and Cordoba for the weekend with our program. We did a day trip to cordoba on the way to Granada and spent some time wandering the city, I ending up going to this christain palace which had a beautiful garden and we just roamed in the palacio for a couple hours taking millions of pictures. then we went the famous mesquita (mosque). The weather in cordoba was sooooooo hot, it made
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

dianna in cadiz!
me so tired! But what’s new, I’m always sleepy :P The mesquita we went too is one of a kind because within the walls of a muslim mosque they built a cathedral! So they didn’t tear it down because it is still considered a cathedral too!
Going to Granada was something I was looking forward too! I was there to start my trip in spain and I couldn’t wait to go back! The first time around I didn’t have a chance to go see the Alhambra, which is the main attraction in Granada, because I didn’t want to pay twice, so I was super stoked to go see it finally! It was so gorgeous and the view from the top was amazing! You could see the albayzin (all white town) in a whole new light from up on the hill. We also got to eat SHAWARMAS! (like gyros) we probably ate them at least twice a day! And Granada is way bigger than cadiz and has more international people so we were able to eat ethnic food there! Everyone was super excited. We don’t really have that much variety when it comes to food in Cadiz. We went out our
Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

top of palacio in cordoba
last night to this 7 room cave club up in the sacromonte (cave area) people live in caves up on a hill, mainly to keep cool during the hot days of the summer in granada. My last trip I got to see a man’s house in one of the caves, and these caves are pretty high tech, some of them have flat screens and they are pretty big, its impressive. But it was the best club experience I’ve ever had! The cave faces the Alhambra so we were dancing the night away in front of this beautiful palace! It was amazing!
It’s been nice staying in Cadiz for the past couple weekends! I love it here. The beaches are starting to get crowded, not just with foreigners but actually gaditanos! I went swimming last week and it felt refreshing! First dip of the year ☺ today changed my sheets and got rid of all the blankets on my bed. My host mom and I decided its only going to get hotter so might as well get rid of them now! The bugs are starting to come out though, which is very unfortunate because the mosquitoes love me! And with good weather seems to come a lot of homework! I feel so overwhelmed and just need to start getting everything together. Just seems like there is so much to do and all I want to do is travel and have fun. Work hard, play harder. Speaking of… I get to go to Mallorca for my birthday and we get a week of for semana santa! We rented apartments for the week and I can’t wait!
That’s the update on mi vida so far! More to come! Miss everyone!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

alhambra
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

el albayzin
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

reminds me of uw cherry blossoms..closest thing i could find
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

alhambra palacio


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb