Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
March 20th 2011
Published: March 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

During carnival we got a week off from school so I took full advantage. I decided to go to Rome for 5 days (we took Ryanair and it was probably the most intense flight I have ever been on, it was an experience in itself, but hey that’s why its so cheap). It was the most amazing experience.
I went with Tracey and Carolina, but ended up meeting up with a bunch of people from our group on certain days and Akel who was there the whole time. It was probably one of my favorite cities so far.
The first day we got there it was super late so we checked into our hostel and tried to go out and get some pizza! We found this cute little restaurant and had our first pizza of italy! I ordered marinara, thinking that meant cheese pizza because on the description it said tomato sauce, basil and garlic. Apparently in italy pizzas don’t automatically come with cheese. Lesson learned! But it was still delicious! Then we went out for some dessert, I got a pistaccio canoli or something like that, not really a fan but then again I don’t really like sweet desserts all that much. and that was the end of our arrival.
We went to the Colosseum the next day and it was mindd blowing! We had to wait in line forever but it was totally worth it and when we got to the front it happened to be Ladies Day! So we got in free, which was pretty exciting, who knew they had ladies day at the colosseum too! The place was amazing and I couldn’t believe that I was finally in Rome! After the colosseum we went to the little garden and looked around at some more ruins all over. We stopped for lunch and got more pizza and pasta! What more could we ask for! Once again I got pizza without cheese! I really needed to read the menu’s a little better. It was this Mediterranean pizza which was like a salad on a pizza but still soo good. I’m glad I didn’t pay a lot of attention to the menu’s because I was finally ordering stuff that I would never order! After roaming around rome ( :P) we went on a search for this famous gelato place. We found it! We ended up going there everyday and trying new flavors it was so delicious.
We found this cute little family owned Italian place near our hostel and had dinner there almost every night and tried something new. It had a fun family vibe and was packed every night with Italians, so we knew it had to be good! We left satisfied everyday.
The next day we spent just wandering through plazas and Rome, this is the day I found my favorite place on earth! The fountain of trevi! It was soo amazing, we first went there at night and it was so romantic so many couples everywhere! But then we went by day and it was a whole different atmosphere but still one of my favorite places ever! It was soo pretty I still can’t get over it. I wish I could go back every day and just sit there and take it all in. we also so the steps of espana, a castle and a bunch of places all over. That night I got to visit one of my friends in Rome who was studying abroad too! It all worked out perfectly with timing.
On our last full day, we dedicated that to the Vatican and it definitely deserved a full day! We went into the basilica and I have never seen a basilica of that size! It was huge! And we went down below to see the tombs of the past popes and it was crazy. I’m not super religious at all but it was still so amazing!! Then we finally went into the Sistine chapel which was like 23432403294 miles away from the entrance! But once we got in it was crazy! You weren’t allowed to take any pictures, but I still tried. I got caught and had to delete it, but that didn’t stop me from trying again haha. I had to be sneaky and just take it without looking… So here I am today, with one picture of the room, which just happens to be of the creation…got lucky with that one. Everything in Rome is soo amazing and so historical I could go again and still have so much to see!
Our last morning in Rome we made one more stop at the gelato place! It was our number one priority before we got on the bus to the airport. We were the first ones there at 10 am getting gelato but it was so worth it! After all the amazing Italian food in Rome, the food in cadiz doesn’t even compare! I miss italy!



tried adding pictures (like 6 times) but it just wasn't letting me! i have most of them on facebook!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb