Talia Arrives in Cádiz, Finally.


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Cádiz
August 30th 2008
Published: August 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Plaza ChurchPlaza ChurchPlaza Church

A view from the Wi-Fi plaza :)

Entry 4



I'm here, I'm here. We left Madrid this morning after visiting the Palacio Real. The flight was about an hour long to Jerez de la Frontera, a city about 30 mins from Cadiz. We bussed over to Cadiz and met our host families. On the bus, we were given an itinerary/calendar, contacts, and a sort of rule book which includes a list of things we can't do, like get it on in our host family's house.

My host mom, Carmen, is a single older woman with three children that have moved out of the house. So it's just her, me, Chiqui (her little perrita), Gatito, and a canary whose name escapes me.

The house is really cute, and I have a double bed which is a nice change from the twin beds in the dorms. Also, Carmen likes vegetables (verduras), for which I am very thankful. She was also nice enough to let my sister room with me while she is here.

After settling in, we took a walk around the city. It's is very cute and antiguo, and from my house you can walk to the end in about 30 minutes. We saw some plazas and the shopping areas, and then went to an internet cafe... but all the computers were taken. Around 9:30pm, we ate dinner. Carmen called it "tortilla de patatas" which I guess would be potato tortillas, but it was actually kind of like a potato omelette.

Spanish people also apparently have this custom of drinking what Americans would basically consider V8 soup. They drink it during dinner as a replacement for a salad. I tried it, and it was interesting... different... but healthy-tasting.

After dinner, we discovered that free internet could be attained at this one plaza in front of this one church, so that it where my sister and I are currently located, checking facebook and emailing the fam.

That's all I have for now. On Monday, I begin orientation. More updates to come, of course.

Thanks for reading,
Talia

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb