Nearly in Portugal


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Cádiz
February 2nd 2007
Published: February 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I love Spain, I just wonder what it will be like when it is finished? In my last entry, I was just south of Valencia. Well, have done some travelling since then And met some interesting people, not to mention haveing some fantastic weather (that has now deserted me).

Interesting stops include, Benedorm (full of old Brits strolling up and down the sea front. However, it is very clean, with beaches hoovered every night. I also found a bar that the local bikers use, where there was entertainment in the form of a Blues brothers tribute, who were very good), Alicante (well worth a visit for the hill top fortress of Castillo de Santa Barbara), Alhama de Murcia (where I stopped in a campsite in the mountains. Talking to locals, the guy who owns Orange cycles lives there and uses the area for testing the bikes. had some good rides), Granada (amazing city, very Moorish, with the Alhambra and the Moorish old town of Albaicin), Serria Navada (spectacular mountain range, with skiing at the top. Went for a half day hike and a couple of hours riding, but no snowboarding this time), Salobrena (lovely little seaside resort, where I parked on the seafront for 4 nights, went swimming in the sea with some dolphins and met a guy touring Spain in a converted Luton van), Torremelinos (so built up and British that you could be on the south coast of England, except for the weather), Marbella (nice sea front, otherwise boring), La Linea (town that is next to Gibralta. Didnt go to Gibralta for technical reasons), Tarifa (where all the wind/kite surfers go, because of the wind. However, while I was there there were only storms or dead calm, so didnt get the chance to do either. I did catch the ferry over to Tanger, in Morocco, but cant say I liked the place) and now Cadiz (Interesting port with impressive cathedral and forts, roman ruins and a cracking museum).

The answers to last entries quiz are:
The film that made St Tropez famous was "Et Dieu Creu La Femme" (1956) staring Brigette Bardot.

The Camargue is famous for Horses, Bulls and Flamingos, all good on bbqs

The bridge in valencia is one in a series that passes over a park, rather than the usual roads, railways or rivers.

Well don all who answered correctly.

This entry has no questions as I am once again able to insert pictures because I am working on windows 98 and do not have drivers. I will add a suppliment with the questions shortly.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0909s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb