Happy Turkey Day


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Almería
January 21st 2010
Published: January 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

My Beautiful Turkey! Elena's ready to attack.
Thanksgiving happened over 2 months ago. I'm a little behind as usual. It wasn't my first one away from home. This was actually my third Thanksgiving that I celebrated abroad. At the end of January things had started to get cold. People here had told me that when winter comes it rains a lot. Well, it seemed as if winter had decided to show up at our doorstep on Thanksgiving Day. It rained A LOT. However, I was not about to let rain ruin my holiday. Thursday I still had to work, but thankfully we got out early because I had a lot of preparations to do. I was in charge of making a lot of the American dishes. On Wednesday, Sarah, Marga, and I made the stuffing together at Marga's house. On Thursday afternoon I made sweet potatoes, enough gravy for 20 people, and last but not least, I roasted an 18lb turkey! Yes, that's right, an 18lb turkey. It was so big that it almost didn't fit into my oven and I had to bake it slightly on its side. I was nervous, of course. It was my first time to cook a turkey. I even cooked half of
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

Sarah and Ana getting the sweet potatoes ready.
the stuffing inside of the it. We had two different options of stuffing! Apparently either luck was on my side, or I still have a knack for cooking. The turkey turned out to be delicious and no one got food poisoning hahaha.

I shared Thanksgiving with my friends from school. All of us were women with the exception of the fiance of the host. I had an amazing time. It was a wonderful blend of culture. Sarah and I got to share new foods with everyone: new ways of preparing sweet potatoes and mashed potatoes, the concept of putting gravy over stuffing, turkey, and mashed potatoes, and yes, even eating turkey. Our Spanish friends brought the desserts and of course the drinks. I don't know if I've ever laughed so hard in my entire life. The Spanish definitely know how to have a good time. We stayed out late enjoying ourselves telling jokes and stories.We didn't even get to eat until around 10pm. This of course is purely Spanish. They eat dinner much later than we do, and they eat a lot less. It's definitely one of my favorite memories thus far in Spain.


P.S. Teaching my
Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

It's nearly 10pm and I'm starving. I' had been looking at most of this food since 2pm that afternoon
students about Thanksgiving was a fun and amusing experience. When asking my students if they knew why Americans celebrate Thanksgiving I usually received a common answer. "Isn't that the day that you guys eat turkey?" they asked me. Or "Isn't that the turkey holiday?" . The younger students (1st, 2nd, maybe 3rd grade) when I showed them pictures of the food they almost always shouted "Chicken!" They never cease to make me smile.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

A table of happy eaters.
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

Friends from school: Lydia, Esperanza, and Valle.
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

Maria Jose and MariCarmen
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

The hostess and I
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

I'm sooooo full and the dessert hasn't even come around yet.
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

Toasting. Tchin, Tchin. Saluuuuuuuud!!!!!


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb