More Beautiful...


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
September 1st 2006
Published: September 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

So today just got better and better...

I spent the afternoon by myself wandering around the city. I started out in the main park again, and found out it is actually more like 25x the size of city park in Kelowna. That, and it includes a huge, lushly forested mountain that compares to Knox in size and has great walking trails all over it! So I hiked around for about half an hour, of course in my skirt and crappy shoes... but it was too nice to not go!

Every hundred metres along the trail, there are signs that have different stretches on them for you to do... Of course I had to stop and do them! And when you get to the top, there is kind of like a gym made of mostly wood set up along about a 100 metre stretch, with chin up bars, rings, step-up things, balance beams... it was really neat!

Later I wandered into the city centre again and hung out there. I was going to go to the castle but I had already climbed my hill for the day and I wasn't sure how late it is open. So I sat
Sign giving you stretchSign giving you stretchSign giving you stretch

I liked these a lot... I had to stop and do a couple!
down in a little outdoor cafe and pulled out my Slovene book and started repeating random phrases... it's a little embarassing to study in public though because I get a lot of funny looks when I keep asking What my name is and Where I am from!

All in all, the honeymoon stage here has been fantastic and I hope it continues as I become more and more localized!

Adijo!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Serbian Orthodox ChurchSerbian Orthodox Church
Serbian Orthodox Church

I went inside just as it was closing. Very beautiful!
River viewRiver view
River view

I like this one a lot!


2nd September 2006

beautiful
The river photo is so beautiful. Looks like walkways under a portico????? Are there shops along the river???

Tot: 0.329s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0891s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb