Ljubljana, Slovenia


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
August 28th 2014
Published: July 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Dubrovnik, Croatia to Ljubljana, Slovenia


I depart from Split (via Dubrovnik) and take the night train to Ljubljana. I tried as much as I could to get sleep where I would be fresh to start my next journey. I arrive shortly after nine am the following morning, and I am desperately in need of a shower. I depart the train station and start out on foot to find my hostel. The directions were not that easy to navigate from, and I found myself asking more than one local to direct me. I just could not find the right street, and my backpack felt like it was getting heavier and heavier.

Finally, after what seemed like hours, but in reality probably maybe one, I reach my hostel. It took a few minutes to learn how to navigate and get inside, but finally I made it. The hostel was up the stairs, and after going up two to three flights, I made it to the reception. Of course I could not check in yet, so I left my bag in the hall with several other bags, and off on my adventure I go.

I did as I normally do and make my way to the center of town. If you can get to the city center, you normally see many wonderful sights and smells of a European city. Preseren Square in is the main square of Ljubljana, dedicated to the greatest Slovenian poet, Dr. France Preseren. His statue (Preseren's statue) stands in the middle of the square and is surrounded by the many beautiful buildings. Many people were sitting on the statue stairs, and this must be a good way to meet and chit-chat with locals, enjoy the sun, or listen to street musicians and just watch the locals stroll by. I would definitely have to come back here if nothing else but to sit and relax.

In the center of town was a wide open area that had streets going in several directions. A bridge called Plecnik's Triple Bridge that I found out was a connection with the Old Town, market area and the river seemed like the perfect spot to start my city exploration. I did notice in the Preseren Square one of the main symbols of the city due to its location in the central area was a church that really stuck out due to its striking color. Most all of the buildings had a stone or yellow color, but this church had a mauve or pinkish tint to it.

Just as I expected, the street vendors were setting up their kiosks, and some were already cooking some meat that just smelled so good, and this area appeared to be the gathering place. A couple of the streets overlooked the river which was quite lovely. I decided to make my trek down one of the streets leading to what appeared a large church or cathedral. Normally, if you can find a church, you know you most likely will have some beautiful photo opportunities. I make it to the church which was sitting what seemed to be the dead end of the street. Once you made it to the church, you had to go left or right, kind of like in real life when you make choices about your beliefs and church. You either go left or right. Anyway, I look around and take some photos, and back on my adventure I go. I was a little bit tired and in desperate need of a shower, so I decide to make my way back to the hostel, check in, and clean up.

Sometimes just walking around gives the best opportunities to see many lovely sights one would not normally see if they had a set agenda. I trek back down a side street along the river and see many beautiful sights. I look up the hill a bit, and I see a castle that I knew that I would want to get too if I could just find the way. There were many pathways leading up the hill. I went from the old town's Stari trg or Old Square which seemed to be very popular, and after about ten or so minutes walking, I was there. I suppose which ever path you would take, from which ever side, you probably could not get lost. They all lead to the castle. The castle of Ljubljana as it was called is just one of the castles in the city, and what I found out was that it was the biggest one and the most visited. The trek was of course up a hill, so it was a little work, but it was worth it. I arrive at the castle and walk around the outside looking down over the city. Upon arrival at the main gate, I was surprised to find out that I did not have to pay anything to enter the castle courtyard. Free is good for me, so in I go. I walk all the way around the inside of the castle. I was able to spend a little time in the castle itself reading about the history and looking at the artifacts. I decide to go up to the tower. The tower is actually a clock tower with a bell. There was a winding staircase with red rails you had to walk up to get to the top. Once at the top, the space was limited, and with several people there, it was not easy to find a spot to look over. I just had to be patient to wait my turn which in reality did not take very long. From the top you could pretty much see all of Ljubljana. It was a beautiful sight. After ten to fifteen minutes on top, I make my way down to further explore the castle.
Upon departure from the castle, and trekking back down the path, I make my way to another landmark. I actually stumbled onto a bridge, and as a Ljubljana trade-mark, the Dragon Bridge is one of the most well known sights of the city. Four green dragons, two on each side, stand proudly to guard the bridge and the city itself. Though ladies beware….the dragon is said to wave its tail, when the bridge is crossed by a virgin! The history of the bridge goes far back in the past when it was wooden and called a Butchers' Bridge. In 1901 the existing one was built in secession art style, dedicated to Franc Jozef, the Hapsburg Emperor. Written on the side are the years showing the time of his rule. Made of reinforced concrete, it is one of the first bridges in Europe built using this technique. Little did I know when I first arrived and started exploring, but you can easily see the Dragon Bridge from the Triple Bridge, stretching over the Ljubljana river at the other side of the market place. I take some photos here and make my way back to the Preseren Square.

After looking around a bit more, and getting some food (I don't know what kind of meat it was, but it was delicious), I make my way back to the hostel. I was taking a day trip the next day to Lake Bled, and I wanted to rest up a bit to make sure I had plenty of energy to do a lot of walking. After the day trip I would be back for another night, but mainly for just supper and sleep. From departing Ljubljana after the day trip, I would be taking my final destination to Milan. Ljubljana is a beautiful city, and I would very much entertain coming here again some day if ever the opportunity arises.


Additional photos below
Photos: 102, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb