Drink


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
August 20th 2006
Published: August 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Ljubljana - which I still have trouble pronouncing, and spelling with all those consenants - mid-afternoon. I immediately went off to find and check into my hostel, the Celica.

I liked the place right off the bat. As a former prison-turned-artsy-fartsy-hostel-bar, I was expecting something different from your average hostel and I was not disappointed. The place is really clean, has lots of cool spaces to hang out, and everyone is super-friendly.

Within around 5 minutes of arriving at Celica, I was in my room - a 12-bed dorm unfortunately as all the smaller, prison cell rooms were already booked. I immediately met two blokes - 42 year old David from Whales and 23-year old Cathal (pronounced Ko-hal) from Ireland. We went down to the Celica bar where we drank a number of beers (some number...who knows how many) and met two Austrlian chicks, Claire and Lydia. Cathal told us all about his 9-11 conspiracy theories (inside job) and the rest of us sort of disagreed to some extent. By the time we were done with the last beer he probably could have convinced me the job was pulled off by the tooth fairy or Jesus Christ and I wouldnt have argued.

Drunk and by this time dark out, we went around the corner past some graffiti and tires and broken glass and trash and some dudes pissing to some bars in Metelkova (conveniently part of the same complex as our hostel) including one I remember called Gala Hala. the other ones I cant remember. 😊 We got further trashed at these bars. The beer is so cheap - like around 90 US cents or something - that is is hard not to drink a lot. Plus the beer goes down well. I dont know it was the best beer in the world or anything but after the first 5 or 6 I dont think I could tell what the hell I was drinking.

Being a bohemian-like atomosphere and all, I was thankfully able to relieve myself where I wanted. Actually everyone pretty much pissed anywhere except for the actual immediate bar areas. I must have pissed like 8 times, and each time I was accompanied by 5 or 6 random dudes plus some duddettes who just drop trou and squat on the ground to make room for more beer.

Some Slovenian drummer guy started hanging out with us at some point, talking about how much he loves American bands and all the places he and his band has played around the world. David went into how Whales was conquered by England and should revolt and gain its independence. Cathal wanted to talk about screwing chicks. and the Austrlian chicks turned out to be bisexuals who were messing around with each other and wanted to find more chicks.

All in all a fun evening. But I forgot the
thing with hostels is no sleep. Meet lots of people, but no sleep. So not sure if the hostel thing will work out for me but Im going to try.

Meanwhile, in other hostel news the hottest fucking dude in Slovenia slept
in a bed like 2 feet from mine last night...wearing nothing but his tight
white briefs sleeping on top of his sheet. When I came in he was sleeping,
but with a semi-erection. He distracted me for a few hours...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb