"When the moon hits your eye like a big pizza pie..."


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
July 7th 2006
Published: July 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Voracious herbivoreVoracious herbivoreVoracious herbivore

Why Becky, wherever did you get that fabulous summer vest?
Darja and I went out for lunch today to a place in Moste called Piazza. It was so fricking cute, I wanted to scream. It looked like a little rustic Italian villa inside, complete with grapevines etc. Darja kept with the Slovenian tradition of ordering a fried egg of top of her pizza, while I decided to be experimentally vegetarian and get the Piazza San Domenico, which had zucchini, arugula, and various assorted greens on top. It was excellent... and that was my serving of vegetables for the month 😉.

I went back to Majda's house for a catnap. An hour later or so, Grega, Miha, and Jaka picked me up for a night out. Jaka, although the youngest, was obviously the ringleader, so we hit up some of his favorite spots. The first was Cafe Bolivar on the outskirts of downtown, and then second was Boheme, right along the Ljubljanica river. I was telling them (in English, thankfully: they had realized the futility of having a serious conversation with me in Slovenian) that you can usually pick out whether a person is Western or European by the type of shoes that s/he wears: Euro guys tend to wear these
Out with the guys at Cafe BolivarOut with the guys at Cafe BolivarOut with the guys at Cafe Bolivar

Me, Jaka, Miha, and Grega
suede sandals, often with black socks underneath, and I don't think I have ever seen a European woman in sneakers, unless she is playing a sport. Even the sporty women's shoes are much more colorful and sleeker-looking than regular Nike or whatever.

Hungry after a few drinks, we walked to a place near the train station where they sold pleskavica, lepinja, & kajmak , which is spicy, sausage-like patties, fried bread, and a (I think) sauce made from goat cheese. Holy crap, someone needs to import this into America. I can see this as a major drunk food staple on college campuses! It was sooo good, although I got that impending-spontaneous-stomach-combustion feeling like I had gotten from the burek when we were done.

As we walked back into the center of town, we passed a movie theater. Now, one of my favorite hobbies when I travel is to see how English movie titles are translated. They had an ad for that newer Robin Williams movie, the one where he goes on vacation in the motor home with his family. Can't remember the name. Anyway, the translation in slovenian was Očka, Ne Ga Srat! , which the guys told
Enjoying a Croatian "fourth meal" ;)Enjoying a Croatian "fourth meal" ;)Enjoying a Croatian "fourth meal" ;)

Does this satisfy the four food groups: crunchy, spicy, cheesy, and grilled? Indeed!
me translates roughly into "Daddy, Stop Shitting Around!" I think I laughed for about 10 minutes straight.

One last stop. I couldn't drink alcohol anymore and got a strange look from the waitress when I ordered a "white coffee" - basically a latte or au lait. (It was about midnight). In any case, we had fun, and it was nice to hang out with some younger people.

Next issue: Super Family Extravaganza!

Advertisement



12th July 2006

Moste?
Becky, did Darja take you to my cousin Lojze Anzic's gostilna? He's in Moste! (Back in the day, he owned a disko [pronounced DEE skoh] which was THE place to hang out. But I digress...) Sounds like you're having a good time! Good luck on the photo uploads. Soak up the Ancient Roman ambience in Pula! I think you'll love it there... LP, Mom.
17th July 2006

Non-American Style Italian Food
I just got back from my trip (neglecting my own blog) and have had a marvellous time catching up on your blog! We have pizza with egg in London too...so next time you're in town ;-P Jxx

Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.2095s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb