Slovenia


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
August 23rd 2008
Published: August 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in the Slovenian capital of Ljubljana on (last) Tuesday morning. Slovenia is a a very small country---population just over 2 million---and Ljubljana is a city of just 254,000. I have heard it referred to as a mini-Prague, but since I haven't been to Prague I can't really say whether that's an accurate description or not!

Slovenia in general is very green and Ljubljana was no exception. After spending some time here I think it would be a great place to study abroad. It had a very vibrant, bustling nightlife with packed cafes all along the Ljubljanica River. It was also safe and the locals were very accommodating, making it easy to get around. There aren't really a lot of sights, but I thought it was a great place to spend a couple days. We got there on Tuesday morning and left on Thursday morning for Vienna. I definitely recommend it if you ever find time to visit!

I actually left Vienna Sunday night and I'm writing this in Amsterdam. I'll probably do a Vienna entry momentarily. Kip went on to Munich and I'm going to start my solo trek through Western Europe---hitting Amsterdam, Paris, the French Riviera, and Spain. That's quite a few places to hit in just over two weeks, so hopefully I'll find time to keep everyone updated. That's it for now!


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Ljubljana CastleLjubljana Castle
Ljubljana Castle

Funicular that takes you to the top of the hill
Ljubljana CastleLjubljana Castle
Ljubljana Castle

View from the top


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb