Thinking it through


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
May 31st 2008
Published: June 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

houses at Ljubljanicahouses at Ljubljanicahouses at Ljubljanica

Saturday in Ljubljana
I arrived in Ljubljana today, for the first time in three years. Being back is really strange, the city has changed and yet it is the same. New people, old people, new smells, old smells. Places that I remember, places that have come, places that no longer exist.

I am staying with João in a big flat in Slovenska. It is quite an inventars place. The people living here are rather artistic in one way or the other, or so I heard as I have yet to meet them. But the place certainly gives an idea of those who inhabit it. It is dirty, but clean, it is exciting to walk around - taking a notice to all the little oddities in each corner.
What might be most out of the common way is that except from the dog, the community also owns a pig. A little female pig, called Peka who runs around grunting and cleaning the floor with her big and long piggy nose.

Two days have gone by and I have had a bit of sightseeing in my lovely Ljubljana. There was a electronic festival in the middle of Slovenska Cesta yesterday, which was pretty weird
the oddities of a cornerthe oddities of a cornerthe oddities of a corner

at my friends place in Slovenska, Ljubljana
as Slovenska is often traffic-jammed. Families were playing in the street and people were listening to the music of the bands playing on a large stage. It was really cosy.

I've met some of the people that I used to work with, including Mitja whom I haven't seen for three years. It was great to finally catch up and talk about old times as well as new. Back then he was an extremely important person and I still today believe that we both grew in our personality by spending that half a year together. It is therefore weird that we haven't met untill now, but even stranger was that it seemed as if we had never been apart. Two people with a history like ours will always have a truely fascinating connection and I find myself lucky to have had such an experience as to know him. This said, it should also be emphasized that we are friends and what ever we had back then has left a strong nothing but friendship. Both of us are at the moment in the situation of being madly in love with our respective girl/boyfriend. Furthermore, knowing each other so well as we
Saturday in LjubljanaSaturday in LjubljanaSaturday in Ljubljana

At Ljubljanica River
do, makes it so much more wonderfull to blast out about this and that about our being in love with someone, because we know where we come from and who we are and therefore understand each other in a way that is truely great. Well, this was a bit of girltalk, but I suppose Ljubljana brings up such things in me. Ljubljana was a place where I really got the possibility to find out who I was and what meant something to me. Therefore, the people that I knew back then still keep up a special place in my heart.
Though it is great being back in Ljubljana and renewing old friendships I still have the strange feeling that though my plan was to stay for a week that is way too long. Staying for more than a few days will make me start realising truely all those things that have changed and the time of Ljubljana is still too close for me to accept the changes that have happened. Maybe in another three years as I return again, it will be different, but for now I need to keep my memories of Ljubljana intact. I, therefore, leave for Budapest
instrument picnic in Tivoliinstrument picnic in Tivoliinstrument picnic in Tivoli

Tivoli Park in Ljubljana
earlier than expected and will stay there for a few days before going home to Copenhagen on the 8th.

At the same time my home calls out for me. As I feel that the year in Ljubljana was extremely important to me, I also have the strangest sensation that this year will one day mean the same. I have never loved Copenhagen as much as I do at the moment. And my travelling gene has been pushed in the background for a wish of enjoing the summer in Copenhagen with friends and family. Realising this was hard, as I have always thought of myself as one of those persons who should find my life away from Denmark. My days as a globetroot - if ever I was one - are not over, it is in my blood, but for a while I will content myself with travelling in Copenhagen getting to know my homecity. This said, I still have to see Caucasus this summer and am excited, but also worried that I will miss home more than usual. It might have to do with growing up, with getting to a point where family and old friends are more important
Car-free Slovenska CestaCar-free Slovenska CestaCar-free Slovenska Cesta

Slovenska on a truely fascinating day
than the idea of making new. I once read an article that girls as they round 24 start spending more time with their families, who they since the pre-teen years had tried to avoid "because that was simply too embarrasing". Maybe this is where I am.
Well, here I am making maybe my most personal entry to date. But writing it down seemed rather important to me in some sense. Getting words on the feelings. And where better to do that than on the travelblog that for the last three years has been my amazing companion on my travels and as I have prepared for them.
I will upload a few pics of pigs and others, from these first days in Ljubljana and I promise that the next blog will be a bit more on the experiences of travelling.
Many good wishes to all other globetroots out there

Anna


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Peka the pigPeka the pig
Peka the pig

The favorite pet in Slovenska Cesta
Ljubljana in SpringLjubljana in Spring
Ljubljana in Spring

View towards Ljubljanica and the castle hill
Atmosphere of MetelkovaAtmosphere of Metelkova
Atmosphere of Metelkova

Young people enjoing a night out in Metelkova city
Market dayMarket day
Market day

Ljubljana early sunday morning


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb