Ljubljana


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
August 29th 2007
Published: August 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ljubljana is wonderful. I went up to the castle early as it'd be quieter and met this Kiwi girl and we wandered round for the morning. There was an art piece that made it rain in the street! Random! Went in a lovely church just before they closed for mass, and had really cheap wine by the river. A good morning, all in all. Im taking the bus to lake Bled even though its grey and overcast, as i kinda want to see it in the morning. I think I sent grandpa a postcard, I may have just put it in the bin, im not sure. The architecture is not quite what i expected, tho im not really sure quite what i expected! It looks like "new trying to be old" with a smattering of actual real buildings. The castle was definately newer than I thought. I keep mixing up my Slovenian for please thankyou. I managed to catch the end of a folk song festival in teh park last nite, which was cool. The short film in the castle was a bit odd, it kinda skipped what i presumed would be major points in Ljubljanas history,namely the wars! Im trying to take more interesting photos, as there's only so many photos of pretty buildings one can take! There was a semi full moon last nite, and it sillhouetted teh castle and was oh so atmospheric. Now theres a thunderstorm. I mean really, how many times do you get excited about a thunderstorm. This feels, I dont know, different. Im on a bus watching lightening strike time after time. through torrential rain. Before teh rain started there was that expectant hush. like waiting for something terrible. Ok, apart from being Slovenia, those cloud-topped mountains could be Borneo! somehow the rain only makes it more beautiful.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb