The town that Bled me dry


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Bled
May 27th 2006
Published: February 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Nary a small town of fitter, more stunning guys and girls have I seen yet.

And here I was thinking Slovenia was a mere extension of Slovakia... or Yugoslaiva... or something. I mean seriously, I was picturing plastic tablecloths, bad music and old toothless women with woollen stockings - even in the middle of summer.

No, no folks. Step right up and be prepared for a gorgeous race of people with a fierce outdoor industry, an unrivalled service ethic and one of the highest GDP rates per capita than any of the other newly joined EU cities.

Welcome to Bled, Slovenia!

A coastal Alpine country in southern Central Europe bordering Italy to the west; the Adriatic Sea to the southwest; Croatia to the south and east; Hungary to the northeast; and Austria to the north, Slovenia is a meeting point of cultures, which is reflected in the highly urbane and sophisticated population.

Bled, in particular, has an almost mystical quality to it. Slovenia has only one island but its uniqueness makes it more attractive than many an archipelago. Sheltered by picturesque mountains, the island reigns in the middle of an Alpine lake.This town, which has already existed for a thousand years, has enough charm to have been a symbol for centuries.

On the island in the middle of the lake, the ancient Slavs worshipped Iva, goddess of love and fertility. Pilgrims later came to the church of St Mary on the island. A thousand years ago, on 10 April 1004, the town of Bled was mentioned for the first time when the Holy German emperor, Henry II, gifted it to the Bishop of Brixen. At that distant time, a Roman tower already stood at the top of the cliff rising vertically 100 m above the lake, and it still forms part of the mighty castle that now houses a museum collection. The town flourished in the Middle Ages due to pilgrims, and these were replaced in the 19th century by the first tourists.

I saw my first live classical music - the Paul Klee String Quartet in Bled, who played to a small audience inside the chambers of the ancient Roman castle.

I cried.

Like a little sissy I had tears rolling down those cheeks as the last strains of something amazing stung me with their beauty. Then I realised I had a hair stuck on my eyeball, but it was all part of the dramatic effect so I went with it.

Something in the air or water also tickled my fitness fancy - got all outdoorsy and did a kick arse technical mountain-bike ride throughout the Julian Alps (did it for you Rossy, really I did!) and spent some time jumping around in canyons and underwater caves with some weird guy called Canyoing Bob.

All in all, got a good dose of "Haha, you don't know anything about Europe" and was rather proud of Bled for kicking my arse out of its prejudiced and lazy comfort zone.

A jewel in the backpacking crown.

(Photos coming soon)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 20; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb