Day 19 2023, a zoo, crisps, swimming and Lego with a view


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Bled
August 10th 2023
Published: August 10th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Day nineteen. 2023. I love Bled. (I may not have made this clear enough 😂) This morning was a visit somewhere new, a mini zoo. I'm not sure it was what you might expect of a zoo but it had snakes (quite terrifying as they stared at you) lizards (see above) the biggest free roaming grey parrot who clicked and spoke to you (in English) but equally looked like one wrong move and it would peck your eyes out, and all manner of terrapins. They had an insect area, the underside of a giant stick insect will make up all my nightmares from now on, they had fish (well, one tank anyway) chinchillas, hamsters, rabbits (not entirely sure if the small flurries and insects were there as potential food for the reptiles mind you but we'll pretend they definitely weren't) The dark room was definitely dark and the huge frogs almost statue like. When I saw one of the volunteers run past holding a huge snake (having previously been looking under all the enclosures in an agitated state) I thought it was time to go. The two things may have been unrelated and he may just have been taking the snake for a run but .....
Next stop was more bled cake and chicken crisps (oh and iced tea) at the supermarket before lunch back at the apartment.
The weather was again glorious so one last swim beckoned. Ash and Seth snorkelled, scared fish and, in Ash's case floated into a duck.... Claiming the need for an ice cream, I engineered a shop visit once they were our and semi warm and got a couple more bags of crisps to take home (ten didn't seem enough). Ice creams eaten and tea prepped we walked into Bled taking in the phenomenal view of our newfound path. We stopped for a drink, Seth built Lego overlooking the lake and made a new friend, buggy who took a good look around his mario mini set!

Souvenirs bought, I restrained myself from buying an ' I 💖 bled cake ' t shirt sticking to a nice pen for school 😂 we headed home. On our way back, I tried (and failed) to take a nice family photo, (Seth having backwards, Ash turning and/or getting right into the camera etc etc, instead taking one of the view to get me through being back at work!

Tea time when we got back, the insane hob giving me a nice little burn to take home with me as an extra souvenir with more (the last four this visit) bled cake. A wonderful day, fortunately ending without a visit from Jones the cat 😂

Advertisement



Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb