In case of emergency


Advertisement
Slovakia's flag
Europe » Slovakia » Bratislava Region
May 16th 2017
Published: May 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

DSCN0061DSCN0061DSCN0061

yellow fields
So let’s see, my last post ended with free time on the deck. Shortly after that, we had our emergency briefing. Yes, we had to bring our life jackets but they told us, “Really all you need to do is grab a drink and go to the top level. The Danube is not that deep and the top deck will be out of the water”. This was the quickest briefing I’ve ever had.

So now, we are sailing up the Danube and watching the sites go by. At first we were just in Hungry, then Hungry was to our south and Slovakia was to our North. We saw several really yellow fields, so Nancy googled and it turns out these are canola oil fields. Well, no they are rape seed fields and they make canola oil out of it.

We are reading our kindles, talking with folks and then we found cookies. I know, I’m trying to lose weight but they were good. We all had one. Yes, there is a lot of food on a river cruise too (not all day long, but a lot). Next we had the Captains welcome party and wahoo, they were serving champagne.
DSCN0065DSCN0065DSCN0065

susan and nancy with the fire control....
Susan and I got there and then John showed up – no Nancy. Where is Nancy – no where to be found. Susan and John took off in search of her. I now had 3 glasses of champagne – should I drink them or hold them for the others… I was good. They came back. No Nancy. It’s not like this ship is big – 3 floors, 1 bar and 1 restaurant and the upper deck. Still no Nancy. Finally the party started, that’s when we spot her hidden in the crowd that was already there. Little did she know she had been lost. We kept saying – I hope she didn’t jump…

After the meeting, we wanted to go upstairs but a light rain shower came thru. I fell asleep on the sofa reading (but only for about 5 minutes)

Next was dinner. It was another good meal with new complementary wine. Susan ordered 2 deserts as she wanted to try both. We helped her try the 2nd piece. Then John got the waiter in trouble. L He had asked for margarine since they can’t eat butter and the waiter forgot to get it again. When the
DSCN0069DSCN0069DSCN0069

the river
chef came by and asked what they could do better, John mentioned the margarine (2 nights in a row). I know he didn’t really want to get the waiter in trouble.

During dinner we got very close to both shores and Nancy kept saying how Jack (her dad) used to complain when folks got too close to the shore. But she did say, that he was the only one that ever damaged the boat because of hitting something on shore.

After dinner, the ship was coming into it’s first and largest lock. We all went up to the top deck to watch the process. They sure filled up the lock fast with water. It was funny that some people just couldn’t understand the concept of a lock and why a river would need one. Go figure.

Then I headed back to the room to get a nap. You see, I needed to be up between 11:30 and 1. The Danube River takes a bend and is entirely in Slovakia for a bit and passes thru the capital, Bratislava. I decided I could count this as another country (51), if I was awake thru most of it and
DSCN0076DSCN0076DSCN0076

coming into the lock
if I got to see the capital. So, nap time it was. I got up at 11:15 and headed upstairs with my blankets (yes, provided by the ship) and I see a few folks in the bar and dancing. Of course I had to join. There were 6 of us women dancing and a few guys looking on. As the bar closed, I convinced 2 of the women to join me up on the deck so that they could have another country.

It’s cold, it’s windy, but there is a glass wall. 10 minutes after getting upstairs I see the first bridge. Oh yea, we were the only ones up there. We take pictures. I then see the 2nd bridge. The girls say ok, we are going down but after the 2nd bridge I see the next bridge which I think is the one that is pictured everywhere so they hang out for it. But yes, you guessed it, that wasn’t it and it was the 4th one. They got pictures and then headed to bed before we even passed under it. I got to see the town and the castle and I’m glad I stayed up for the
DSCN0094DSCN0094DSCN0094

wow, look how close we are
whole thing. One couple did pop their heads up for about 15 seconds before going back downstairs so I was up on deck all alone. Even when I retired, after 1, I didn’t even see the staff. I got back to the room and Susan was up looking out the window. She said she had woken and was going to come up but saw the lights and figured she wouldn’t have time to dress. Little did she know that it would have been fine to come up in her PJs.



remember there are pictures after the blog post also. don't forget them...


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

DSCN0101DSCN0101
DSCN0101

the moon over the river as I wait for the late night pictures
DSCN0138DSCN0138
DSCN0138

The Capital - castle in the background
DSCN0144DSCN0144
DSCN0144

the bridge that is in all the capital pictures


16th May 2017

Great pix
Love the pix and description of the river cruise. We have friends who did a river cruise last summer and loved it. Your experiences are almost identical so far.

Tot: 0.441s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1023s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb