Slovakia.


Advertisement
Slovakia's flag
Europe » Slovakia » Bratislava Region » Bratislava
March 12th 2007
Published: March 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday February 27.
Left Komano and followed the north bank of the Danube for about 50 kms before crossing the river at a Hungarian town with a very striking castle on a hill overlooking the river. Unfortunnately I didn't write down the name in my jounal. I must look it up. It is a sad fact that one day does so often merge into the next. I followed the bend of the Danube until I reached the suburbs and the traffic. The speed and aggression were unnerving. I saw a terrible accident with a red family car reduced to the size of a domestic fridge (see photograph) underneath a rather small lorry. I stayed the next two nights at the Papillon Hotel on the Buda side of the city, a very nice hotel on a steep hill.

Wednesday February 28.
The first task was to visit a chemist at the bottom of the street. My Achilles tendon is inflamed on my left ankle. I used to get it when I was running. I think that it is due to the cold. The blood suppy does not reach that far down to lubricate the tendon. The lady was very helpful and sold me some cortisone cream and an elasticated bandage. I did a tour of the royal palace area. It was so cold, I was the only tourist around.

Thursday March 1.
To avoid the traffic the hotel advised that I take a train out of town. However to get to the station was a 6 kms ride was a nightmare. I caught a rikkerty train with a great conductor who knew some latin and quite alot of English and he help me get the bike on the train. I got off at Kiskunshava. I had hoped to get to Tompa but the wind came from the south and reduced my speed to 14 kms/hr from 20 - 25 kms I usually maintain.
I gave up a Kiskoros and booked into the Fortuna Hotel. The Achilles tendon is getting better but it is probably more due to the bandage keeping my ankle warm than the cream.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 20; qc: 75; dbt: 0.1094s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb