Bad weather in Eastern Europe


Advertisement
Slovakia's flag
Europe » Slovakia » Bratislava Region » Bratislava
March 11th 2007
Published: March 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sunday February 25
The train was supposed to arrive at 07.30 but was very late in arriving at 09.40.
I cycled through the city to the Radweg on the western bank of the Danube. Here the river consists of three very separate channels each very large. One of the channels is a flood control measure and the main river is divided by a long island.
Each time the Radweg came to and end I had to cycle back north to find a bridge to cross to the opposite bank to find a way south. This happened three times and cost me some heartache. I eventually got on to the northern road to Bratislava. The road sign said Wien 30 kms and I had done 66 kms.
The wind was bitterly cold and from the south east slowing me down to only 14 kms/hr as opposed to my usual speed of 22 - 25 kms/hr. I decided to spend the night in Hainburg some 15 kms short of Bratislava having achieved a disappointing 83 kms. Had a couple of beers in the Café Landsman.

Monday February 26
Left Hainburg at 8 am with snow falling. The road was full of slush and passing lorries covered me in water and mud. I arrived in Bratislava at 10 am and then made my way south east on route 63. The snow had stopped falling and there was no wind. I has decided to take it easy today until I had picked up some fitness but it went well and the road was flat with a good metre of tarmac the other side of the white line so I made it to Komano. I stayed in a brand new hotel with the owner speaking excellent English. I had a pizza and two beers at the Black Dog Pub nearbye having done 120 kms. There is even a Tesco in the town!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.262s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 15; qc: 75; dbt: 0.1585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb