Getting adjusted


Advertisement
Published: June 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Since Julia was sick, the next day we spent just hanging around the house. Grandpa took her outside for a couple of hours and she made some friends, but coulent remember their names. She loved "piesok" - the sand - and kept talking about it all day. Her naps don't go like I would like and she didn't take one. I went to Hawaii pub with my brother and his friends. And I am starting to get sick :/

June 1st is the "MDD" which is the international day of children. I don't know where else they celebrate it, but I think maybe they should rename it "European day of children." we waited for Julia to take a nap and then went to get some ice cream by the museum. There were rides there and she was in seventh heaven. She went of the carousel and on the ducks - those used to be swans in my days and they used to have a stick - if you pulled it towards you the swan went up, if you pushed it away from you the swan went down. Well, as I said, they are ducks now and they have a switch, not a stick. Oh the good old days. By the way this thing went pretty high! I looked at the duck and said to the operator: "Will this handle both of us?" and he said: "I sure hope so." With my confidence in the ride cut in half I said he didn't make me feel very safe and he said: "Well, you know, sometimes even planes fall from the sky." What? Anyway, we survived, the ride didn't fall apart, but the man should learn to communicate better. Oh, by the way, the price for each ride and each rider was 2 euros!!! 2 euros!!!! The prices are ridiculous here.

After zmrzlina (ice cream) and kolotoce (rides) we went through the square to Europa (our shopping center/mall). There they had a bunch of little contests for the kids and in the middle they had a performance by some children's performers (they were adults singing and dancing and stuff). First Julia participated in a small "contest" where she had to walk across a rope bridge and crawl through the tunnel. As she got to the bridge, another family got there and their son was going to crawl through the tunnel. Julia got across the bridge without any difficulty but the little boy would not go through the tunnel. So we waited and waited - they get a prize - a water gun- for completing the challenge. Finally the kid crawled through and julia went right after him. Then it turned out they only had one water gun and the guy gave it to Julia to which the mom of the "I don't want to crawl" boy said "but he crawled through first." I swear she wanted to take Julia's water gun! Seriously? My child completed the whole course, yours took 10 minutes to crawl 2 meters! Ugh. We kept our water gun and didn't look back. We got to the performance and there was a LOT of people. Dad put Julia up on his shoulders so she could see and they watched it for about 30-45 minutes. It took her a while to get into it but she eventually did. I had tea with monika while they were standing watching the performance and Maros, who was there with Risko, came to join us. Risko was in the play area upstairs. Then Janka came a we walked around the mall hoping Julia will get tired. I told them I will meet them for a beer after I put her to sleep - at 8. I got there at 9 because it took me 2 hours to put Julia to sleep again. Welcome the "I am hungry, I am thirsty, I have to pee, I have to poop, I want to sing, I don't want to sing, I need light, I don't want light, stay with me, go away, etc." stage. Every night it's a fight! But I made it for a beer, and really only had one. I am feeling sick so i didn't want anymore. Monika gave me some medicine. I hope it works.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb