Day 18 - Day 3 in Belgrade - Why hasn't he left Serbia yet?


Advertisement
Europe » Serbia » West » Belgrade
June 20th 2013
Published: June 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Rubbish paraffin cookersRubbish paraffin cookersRubbish paraffin cookers

Rubbish paraffin cookers
Day 18 - Day 3 in Belgrade
20th June 2013

I know what you are all thinking- why has he not left Belgrade and head to China?
I stayed a bit longer because it is relatively cheap to live here and also I needed some time to fix those paraffin fuelled cooker and lamp. Spent the whole morning trying to fix them without any success. The reason for the urgency is that bottled butane gas I have been using in the past is getting rarer. I am worried sooner or later, I will not be able too cook my dinner.

Having 'exhausted' myself not fixing anything, I decided to have an afternoon Siesta. I climbed on to the roof rack and slept for nearly 2 hours. The warm breeze from the river Danube helped to keep me cool. I also parked the car under a big tree, so there was a lot of shade from the hot afternoon sun.

With nothing much to do late afternoon, I decided to cook what is left over from my shopping. Today, I had rice and beans with vegetables (garlic, onions, big gherkin (I thought it was a cucumber - stupid of
Rubbish paraffin cookersRubbish paraffin cookersRubbish paraffin cookers

Rubbish paraffin cookers
me) and a few pickled gherkins ).

Found this car park in Belgrade which was both cheap and it was in a good location, so I parked in there and then visited a shop that sold delicious pistachio flavoured ice cream. Yes, Serbia does produce excellent ice cream and I would recommend it to anyone.

I have another stupid thing in the evening. Went back to the camp, hot and thirsty and beer seems to be the only thing that was not sweet. I had a bottle of the local 'Jelen Pivo' and got drunk. I decided to sleep on the roof rack knowing full well the mosquitoes were active at night. After 1 hour of struggling with those blood suckers. I surrendered. I hastily retreated into the safety of my tent, exhausted but relieved because I was no longer under constant attack from my winged friends.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Busy traffic on the DanubeBusy traffic on the Danube
Busy traffic on the Danube

Busy traffic on the Danube
View of the Danube from my roof rack penthouseView of the Danube from my roof rack penthouse
View of the Danube from my roof rack penthouse

View of the Danube from my roof rack penthouse
Mug shotMug shot
Mug shot

Mug shot
Gherkin themed dinnerGherkin themed dinner
Gherkin themed dinner

Gherkin themed dinner
Gherkin themed dinnerGherkin themed dinner
Gherkin themed dinner

Gherkin themed dinner


Tot: 0.296s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0997s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb