Day 17 - Day 2 in Belgrade


Advertisement
Europe » Serbia » West » Belgrade
June 19th 2013
Published: June 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Bike making friends with the localsBike making friends with the localsBike making friends with the locals

Bike making friends with the locals
This morning I cycled from the campsite to Belgrade, a total distance of 10 miles and it tool me just over 2 hours. I was pretty exhausted by the time I got there, just shows how unfit I have become.

There is a great cycle route in the capital that runs along the Danube. Very safe with a fantastic view of the river and the capital city. The bike has made many friends as shown in the pictures. Someone in the market offered me €20 for the bicycle which I thought was very funny.

The market place was full of people and stocked with all sorts of local produce, mainly fruit and vegetables, very little meat around.

The people in Belgrade are friendly enough and I occasionally get a wave from other drivers.

I was sitting in McDonalds having a coffee when I noticed a lot of the local people were walking towards a particular part of town. I decided to investigate and my instinct was right, that part of the city housed the pedestrianised shopping centre where most of the local Serbs do their shopping (at least the wealthy Serbs).


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Heatstroke - almostHeatstroke - almost
Heatstroke - almost

Heatstroke - almost
River Danube - view from campsiteRiver Danube - view from campsite
River Danube - view from campsite

River Danube - view from campsite
One of the many bridges to BelgradeOne of the many bridges to Belgrade
One of the many bridges to Belgrade

One of the many bridges to Belgrade
Long cycle path along the DanubeLong cycle path along the Danube
Long cycle path along the Danube

Long cycle path along the Danube
City cathedralCity cathedral
City cathedral

City cathedral
River viewRiver view
River view

River view
Old steam paddle boatOld steam paddle boat
Old steam paddle boat

Old steam paddle boat
More old boatsMore old boats
More old boats

More old boats
Old buildingsOld buildings
Old buildings

Old buildings
Old buildingsOld buildings
Old buildings

Old buildings
Chinese shopChinese shop
Chinese shop

Chinese shop
Local marketLocal market
Local market

Local market
More friend of bikeMore friend of bike
More friend of bike

More friend of bike
BuildingsBuildings
Buildings

Buildings
BuildingsBuildings
Buildings

Buildings
Main shopping areaMain shopping area
Main shopping area

Main shopping area
Main shopping areaMain shopping area
Main shopping area

Main shopping area
Main shopping areaMain shopping area
Main shopping area

Main shopping area
Main shopping areaMain shopping area
Main shopping area

Main shopping area
More Chinese shopsMore Chinese shops
More Chinese shops

More Chinese shops
More bridgesMore bridges
More bridges

More bridges
Trying to fix my paraffin cooker - not workingTrying to fix my paraffin cooker - not working
Trying to fix my paraffin cooker - not working

Trying to fix my paraffin cooker - not working
Trying to fix my paraffin cooker - not workingTrying to fix my paraffin cooker - not working
Trying to fix my paraffin cooker - not working

Trying to fix my paraffin cooker - not working


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0759s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb