Pebbles and Chicken


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia
March 16th 2007
Published: March 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Please excuse the strange title. I'm so tired I can't even think straight. Today was a blast; I rented a little sailboat (with a captain, of course) and we rode the waves until hunger overtook us both. There were alot of little crustaceans scuttling about on the pebbled sand, and observing the tidal pools was like overlooking a coral reef. The best part is that this wonderful gift of nature costs absolutely nothing; indeed, it is like you are actually gaining riches in Sochi's worldy beauty. This particular beach was on the coast of the Black Sea, and I don't think Don King himself could have picked a better spot to swim and enjoy himself.
We (the captain and I, that is. He is a very gentlemanly fellow, actually...) went to an actual Russian restaraunt to nourish ourselves. He, being a Russian local, explained the goods and bads of Russian Cuisine (the good being Blini,a Russian pancake-like food, and the bad being Ukha, a fish broth soup). I settled on the world-famous chicken strips, much to my companion's displeasure. But I'll get more into Russian foods when i travel to Ekaterinburg, where I hear the food is simply splendid.
I feel almost sad to spend only one day in Sochi, but the gorgeousness is almost overwhelming, so I must rest for Ekaterinburg and make the flight back home. So much to do, so little time!


Sailboat Rent:$657

Going Dutch with a Captain at Dinner: $54

Gas for the Hybrid:$46

A Permanent Scar from the Stupid Crab who Pinched Me: Priceless.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb