Rainy Days in Irkutsk


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Siberia » Irkutsk
July 13th 2006
Published: July 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, I get off the train and start to the street. The french girl told me it was only 25 minute walk to the city from the train, so I thought, no problem. It looked like rain, but nothing too scary. So, as soon as I hit the front, the taxi drivers are after me. Nope, you can not walk, the bridge is out. Hmmm...I was not told this on the train, and she was just here a few days earlier, so I figure the guy is blowing smoke and set off on my way. Now, I have this thing with maps. Unless I am really paying attention, I always go the opposite way. Well, the driver put my attention somewhere else and an hour later and no sign of a river, I realize I have done it to myself again. So, backtracking to the station, I find a parked cab and just hop in. The guy has no idea what I am trying to say, seems to have no idea where the centre of town is, but after some consulting with everyone on the street walking by, he figures out what I want and away we go. And to put a little salt in the wound, not two minutes go by and there is my bridge...it is closed down, but, only to vehicle traffic, tons of people are walking on it...c'est la vie! We find a hotel and I am left there for two days in some very ugly grey. I had decided not to go to the lake if the weather was going to suck, and this was weather that sucked. So, a quick walk around town to see how things looked in the downtown, started freezing my butt off as I was still in sandles and no coat, so back to the hotel I went and the rain just started coming and coming. Who would have thought 13C in the middle of summer. Next day I had to use the coat and shoes, and a long sleeze shirt. Did a total tour of the town, some very cool wood being used in construction of the old homes. A dreary town, I think mostly from the rain, and just coming from a city that was sun and happy people, it was a bit of an adjustment. It is a pretty cool town, they had little flea market type shops everywhere and tons of people all over the place. A real mix of old style and new growth happening there. I was ready for the train and Omsk the final day, ready for some sunshine. I walked to the train station, having scouted the route the day before, and wow, only 25 minutes!

Advertisement



20th July 2006

happy trails
Hi Murray, I have been enjoying your travel blog. I once took the train ALL the way across Canada to Halifax and ALL the way back to Vancouver, so I feel I can relate to your train adventures, although certainly not quite such an exotic location as you. Do you feel safe there when travelling on your own? I am thinking of my trip to Europe 2 years ago, I would not have wanted to travel alone for fear of having anything and everything stolen. I ended up having my wallet stolen right out from under my nose, thank god they didn't get my passport! I was stressed, but managed to survive. Are you going to spend any length of time in Russia, or are you seeing it mostly from the train? Have you been there before? How is the language barrier? You say you are flying to Budapest at the end of the month. I understand Europe is having a major heat wave - again. You'll have to go to the baths and tell me about it, when we tried to go, they had already closed for the day. Bummer. Okay, just had an email from Penny (we'll be seeing her next weekend) so thought I'd check out your adventures and say hi. Stay safe, and have fun! =) Karen

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb