On the Train...


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia
July 10th 2006
Published: July 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, I got on the train, it was a compartment with 4 sleepers that would be my home for the next 3 nights. Joining me was a young woman and her young daughter. Neither spoke english, so we smiled a bit then watched the scenery as it passed by. I got the top bunk, leaving to family to the two below. In the middle of the night, a man came into the cabin and took the remaining bunk. In the morning, everyone was getting ready for their stops. First, the man left, then a little later the woman left, and there I was, all alone in my compartment. And it stayed this way until I arrived in Irkutsk...so much for the great parties that occur on the rail. The ride was great, the scenery so fine. My book had a map in it that listed all the stops that the train took, and their milage point on the line. There were km markers all the way along the line, so anytime I wanted to know where I was, I just looked outside for a bit, then matched the number with my map. I managed to get a lot of reading done during my 4000km of travel, I am not even half way yet. The time actually flew by, but I did not enjoy the lack of showering, I am happy now to report that I have found a hotel with hot water and have taken my first shower in many days. The last 4 hours of my jouney here, what should happen but two english speakers board the train and sit in the compartment next to me. One was a russian, the other a french girl, so we all chatted for the next few hours. Now I am in Irkutsk, and will be here for a few days before I head to Omsk. It looks like a very nice city, so will enjoy the walk tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb