Final Full Day on Train and Omsk


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Siberia » Omsk
July 15th 2006
Published: July 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The train ride to Omsk was decent, my final full day on the train. I was in a full compartment again and I would be the first one off. It was a woman and two men this time, the men related and the the woman on her own. I was the only one with english, so it was another ride of reading and smiliing, though the lady did feed me a bit. It was some nice scenery that final day, and the weather started heating up again, so smiles on my face. When I arrived in Omsk, it was morning and very hot. I decided that I would try my luck with a cab driver as the map said 3km to the town from the train station. As soon as they knew where I was going, they started rubbing their fingers, like, oh...that is a lot of money to go there...so...I tried my luck with map reading. I figured that I could go 1km in about 15 or 20 minutes, so in less then an hour, I would be at the hotel. So, after about 90 minutes, I am totally sure I am going in the correct direction, but thinking, this is the longest 3km I have ever walked, especially with the pack. I look over, and I see the river, then finally, a landmark...a bridge. Now, this is where things go for me, when I misread landmarks. I was not taking chances this time and I found a lady standing and correctly identified the bridge. I then showed her where I was going, and she pointed me in the direction I was heading...success!! When I arrived at the hotel, I got a nice surprise..it was closed down. Luckily, there was another one around the corner so off I walked and soon found myself in a very comfy room, way over budget, with a hot water shower that had no pressure...but it was coming out..so I was happy with the tiny miracle. So, after a good clean up, I went looking for the Literary Museum, wouldnt be able to read anything, but it had some cool items. I found it with no problem, but like my first hotel, closed...seems to be the order of the day. It was hot, it was sunny, so I said, it is another day of walking and enjoying. And with Omsk, I did enjoy it. It was by far the most friendly city for a walker that I have been in so far, of the four I have been to. It was a gorgeous city and I was actually sad that I had only given myself so much time for the place because it is a very good city to chill out. So many parks, some funky cafes, it was just really pleasant to walk around. They had a beach on the river just down from the hotel that was a good place to just sit and watch the water. This is it for Asia, I get on the train and it is off to Ekaterinburg.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb