Cold Cold Cold Irkutsk!


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Siberia » Irkutsk
November 9th 2009
Published: November 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Leaving a very cold Ulan Bator platform behind, we boarded a 36 hour train to Irkutsk in the heart of Siberia, Russia. After a nights' sleep on the train, we arrived at the Mongolian border at 06.30 & the immigration process began again. This time we did not have to leave the train, but it was frustrating because we were stationary for so long. After a small train ride across the border, Russian immigration then took just as long, and we did not leave the Russian border until 16.30 - ten hours of border crossing! After another nights sleep on the train, we arrived in Irkutsk early Monday morning to a frosty platform and a chilly minus 21 degrees celcius! All around everyone's breath was visible in the cold! It was a very stereotypical winter scene at the station, grand trains, frosty ground and people walking round wrapped up in fur. I have never seen so much fur - hats and coats - the Russians still manage to look glamorous in the bitter cold! I however was wrapped up in hat, gloves, scarf and a big ski jacket!

We went for an explore, but had to dive into shops to try and warm up every now and then. I have never known cold like it - as I breathed in, the inside of my nostrils froze! The river was starting to freeze over and the trees had a heavy dusting of snow, it was beautiful, but my ice blocks of toes did not appreciate it so much! The central market was good, and it was a nice introduction to Russia! Lots of fish and cheese, and baked goods. We had a good couple of canteen style Russian meals, a lot of which contained fish and salads - with a good helping of mayo in most of them - seems to be a popular accompaniment here. All the buildings are well looked after, and there is a nice sense of grandeur about them. I really liked it, but I definitely couldn't live there - it's so cold!!

J xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



21st November 2009

All I can say is BRRRRR. I lived and froze in Canada for about five years when I was at boarding school from the age of 10 to 14 or 15 and I remember it well. Some of the hoarfrosts were lovely and the autumn colours spectacular, but I NEVER GOT USED TO THE COLD, PARTLY because I had noone to buy me the appropriate clothes...parents were in Venezuela with only contact snail mail which took weeks. However I survived. Debbie was just in Halifax, Nova Scotia and said she thought of me with no warm clothes. She wrote to me and her sisters and said she had tried on a beautiful mink coat and should she buy it. We all wrote back NO NO NO with varying funny remarks. She did not buy it even tho the shop assistant said it was made for her.

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb