Okay here we go


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Saint Petersburg
February 21st 2015
Published: February 24th 2015
Edit Blog Post

So it’s been a while hasn’t it? Okay where to start?

I guess I should do kind of a day in the life.

So I wake up at 7:30ish, which is something awful but oh well. After that I take either the bus or the metro. So some fun stuff has happened on both in the morning. On the metro I was going just a few stops and this lady came onto the train selling passports and other documents. It was kind of tempting but also probably a sting so I just did nothing. Someone did buy a passport though so that’s something. The buses and the metros are both super clean, and something like 40 cents a ride. Well that’s fine except having that much change isn’t always guaranteed and the women on the bus really don’t like breaking change. Which almost got me a ticket when one of them told me to just sit down without a ticket and then some undercover people stood up to check everyone’s tickets.

Anyway after I get to school, I have a variable schedule but basically I start at 10 and leave at 3:20. Classes are fun and intense; it’s a lot of fun so far.

Usually after I leave I get food with some other people. Prices here mean that eating out all the time is really pretty cheap. So there are a ton of restaurants in this city and all of them are from some far off place with varying levels of authenticity. Case and point I went to a “Mexican” restaurant and the only attempt to make it look authentic was hanging sombreros on the walls.

After that I go home, do work, watch Russian movies, and basically just hang out. The family I am staying with is very welcoming, and to be honest there is really nothing to say there. Nice people

So last weekend I went to a festival and between the music and the effigies and the people it was all super fascinating. It was the first real cultural event I have been to here and it was the weirdest fair I have ever seen. There were little kids lighting tiny scarecrows on fire, which was fun. A good activity for children.



Okay I think that’s about it, I will probably add some more very soon when I realize what I forgot. Till next time.

Advertisement



25th February 2015

Thanks for update....
But we want MORE !!!!

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb