Train and St. Pete


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Saint Petersburg
July 22nd 2006
Published: July 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I got onto the train at 2210, it would get me into St. Pete at 600am. When I got into my cabin, there was a woman there alreay. There were no numbers on the bunks, so I pointed at my ticket and showed my number, hoping she would know. You speak english she asked, and wow, my first Russian english speaker, on my last train, on my shortest train. We got settled and then two men came in...and more english. The colonel and his friend joined us, and brought out the beer, and we toasted a good trip to St. Pete and then talked for a few hours of Russia and Canada, and the english language. I had some good visits on the trains, and this was a great way to end my journey's on the trains. In the morning, St . Pete arrived, and the lady, a professor at the university, offered me a ride to the hotel, as her husband was coming to pick her up and they lived in the same direction. I accepted and arrived at the hotel, no room ready, but internet available, so here I sit, typing away, then I will go explore for a few hours until my room is ready. Another compliment on my age, I was thought to be a student in university. Another comment from the train, they could not believe I would do this trip alone, in Russia, it baffled them. It made me wonder what their opinion of Siberia and the rest of Russia is like. But I am happy I have made this journey. It has been a good rest for me, as well as a great experience in seeing this country. I told the people on the train last night, that even if what they hear in the world press about russia, the bad stories, that I had always been raised with a very positive opinion of Russia. It's culture, its people, too beautiful to have a negative image. So, we agreed it was the politcians that have the bad light, and I added this is the same in all countries. So, off I go to see this place. Soooo gorgeous from what I have seen already, I will have many pictures of this city!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb