Train and Moscow


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
July 21st 2006
Published: July 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

My run of good weather ended on my way to the train in Ekat, a good ending to a nice city, it weeped for my departure, or tears of joy! And so, it was an early train that would take a day to complete and would have me in Moscow, and officially the end of the trans-siberian journey, though my actual journey would not end until I hit St. Pete. I was in a cabin with 3 Russians, older folks, and guess what, no english. But, the one woman wanted to speak with me so much, that when she spoke Russian, she slowed her speech down, but still, even when she spoke slowly, I could not understand her. So, it was a day of reading and sleeping, and watching the markers tick down and down, below 1000 and lower and lower. When I woke in the morning, I was in Moscow, and 0km. I DID IT!!!!!! So, I had 13 hours to kill in Moscow, what is a Canadian boy to do??? Well, he got rid of his bags at another train station, the one his St. Pete train would be leaving, then off to the metro. Bought a ticket, and then found my way to Red square. Only missed the stop by 2, so onto another train, back track, and all of a sudden, there I was, the walls of the Kremlin staring at me. This is no easy feat here in Russia, they do not use our letters often, so to recognize the characters, not so easy, a major reason I have not been in too many restaurants here. So, here I am at the Kremlin, walking around the garden, and I find an opening...and there it is, Red Square. And not only Red Square, but the one reason I really wanted to be in Moscow, St. Basil's!! Very excited when I saw it, it was peaking through some trees, and my mind is screaming, there it is, there it is!!! So, had a tour of it, then walked inside the Kremlin walls as well. Had a bit of a walk around Moscow, then headed back to the train station, it was time to think of St. Pete now and my final few days of the journey....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0759s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb