I think I'm bad at blogging...


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Saint Petersburg
February 2nd 2011
Published: February 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello again.

I don't have too much to report. We started classes yesterday, so I'm just getting into them. The language classes are not too hard, but conversation is a bit more difficult for me than the rest. Literature seems like it will be interesting, and hopefully i will have read some of the selections before. The Civilization course is probably going to be my favorite, because it's basically a sociology course in Russian, so PERFECT.
As far as the city goes, we've been doing quite a bit of exploring. Jen and I performed a bit of an experiment, and we managed to get a few people on board. Kevin and Nick were naturally very enthusiastic. We decided to speak in British accents for a couple of days and judge the vibe we got off of the people of the city. It turns out, people really just seem to like American tourists less than others. Monday, we had several different groups of people make snide comments, generally around the idea of 'typical' or 'stupid' Americans. Tuesday and today, we got no audible negative feedback. Maybe we were just lucky today, or unlucky on Monday, but it was definitely interesting.
I forgot to buy internet yesterday, which is why I didn't write anything (not that i'm promising a daily blog...). I have to pre-pay my internet and cellphone, and buy a monthly metro card, and buy a calling card. The culture of pre-paying is totally frustrating right now, but hopefully we'll get used to it and to the hobo ports where you go and pre-pay for your life.
In other news, Jen and I are going to a show tomorrow night with Anton and maybe a few other people. It will be our first night out with Russians and not just Americans trying to get their footing. I'm sure I will have plenty to say about it. I guess that's it for now. Night all.

p.s. I probably won't explain who everyone i mention is, but you'll figure it out. Jen, Kevin, and nick are my crew for now. Jen and Kevin go to UVM also, Nick goes to school in DC. They're all from CT. Anton is from St. Petersburg. That's all you get for background, unless you get lucky. Also, the Russian posts will have to wait until my brain adjusts. Maybe a week or two.

xo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb