St. Petersburg, Russia


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Saint Petersburg
July 17th 2009
Published: August 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well it was time to leave the car with no top in Finland and take a 6 hour train to St. Petersburg Russia. Daddy had always wanted to go to Russia and I was looking forward to it as well as daddy bought tickets to a ballet, Swan Lake and I also had seen pictures of a building that looked like a cake.

On the train, daddy "accidently" sat in first class and we were in a cabin with 3 guys, two from England and a Canadian. They were touring with Brittany Spears and set up the show for her. They were really nice and they offered us 2 free tickets to the show and told us that it would be good for me since it was a circus act as well. While daddy is not a Brittany music fan, he thought it could be fun idea to see a concert in Russia. After accepting the tickets, we got kicked out of the first class seats, but second class was not bad at all.

So, after a relaxing train ride, we arrived and were picked up at the train station and driven to a bed and breakfast near Sennaya
My CakeMy CakeMy Cake

My favorite building on the entire trip - The Church of the Saviour on Spilled Blood
plaza. We dropped of our stuff and hit the streets. This was the only place on our trip that finding people who spoke English was not that easy, but daddy did well. One of the first things we saw was the Church of the Savior of Spilled Blood, which with all the colors looked like a cake covered with frosting. I really liked it. We took a boat tour around the city, went to a famous graveyard, and walked all around.

The next day we headed to the Hermitage. I had a lot of fun playing outside it and then I fell asleep, which was perfect for daddy so he could walk around the gigantic museum and not worry about me drawing on any of the art. While daddy is not a big art fan, he thought it was really cool. I did wake up to see some of the huge rooms which I thought was cool. We then walked around the city, saw the famous ballet mariinsky theatre, and many other things.

That night was one of the best nights of the entire trip....We went and saw Swan Lake. It was in a beautiful palace like theatre and we had great seats (9th row, center aisle) Daddy was hoping that I would make it through the first act, but I loved it so much I made it through all 3. (I think daddy would have been happy leaving after the 1st act though.) I loved the story, and I made daddy tell me the story almost daily for the entire trip. After the ballet, we took the metro back to near our place, went to an outside bar and we had a lot of fun.

The next day we took a boat to Peterhof. This was an incredible palace and fountains. I especially liked the fountains. Some of them were trick fountains that got me wet when I sat down. I had soo much fun there. That night, we went to the Brittany Spears concert. Sure enough our tickets were there waiting for us. Those guys were very nice, to bad daddy lost their contact info. I liked the concert, and especially liked when I got to scream as loud as I could for a long time to try to get her to come back singing. Daddy got in trouble by a security guard for taking
Having fun at intermissionHaving fun at intermissionHaving fun at intermission

Swan Lake Ballet, Palace Theatre
a picture, but he played stupid and it worked. I screamed much better than most of the other people. I also had fun when all the confetti came down at the end. Thank you Jason Danzer for giving me a ticket to my first every concert. We went out again near our hotel and had fun.

We had a great time in St. Pete, and although daddy was a little bummed he could not see Sarah Palins house from Russia, it was time to pick up our car in Finland and head to the Baltic Countries.


Additional photos below
Photos: 72, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Those are some serious big toesThose are some serious big toes
Those are some serious big toes

Outside the Hermitage
SilhoutteSilhoutte
Silhoutte

Outside the Winter Palace
Telling Daddy about my ballerinaTelling Daddy about my ballerina
Telling Daddy about my ballerina

Swan Lake Ballet, Palace Theatre
Me and my toysMe and my toys
Me and my toys

Train from Helsinki to St. Petersburg
Running to DaddyRunning to Daddy
Running to Daddy

Alexander Column in front of the Winter Palace
The Ballerinas where Awesome!The Ballerinas where Awesome!
The Ballerinas where Awesome!

Swan Lake Palace Theatre
Chop of the HeadChop of the Head
Chop of the Head

Daddy and I saw a statue like this in Jodhpur, India so when I saw it I pointed and yelled "chop of the head"
Brittany Spears ConcertBrittany Spears Concert
Brittany Spears Concert

Not originally on daddy's "want to see" list for St. Pete, but thanks to 3 cool dudes we met on the train, we were thereedit delete
I was bummed it was overI was bummed it was over
I was bummed it was over

Swan Lake, Palace Theatre
Tchaikovsky's GraveTchaikovsky's Grave
Tchaikovsky's Grave

Tikhvin Cemetary
Having a lot of funHaving a lot of fun
Having a lot of fun

At a bar in Sennaya Square after the Ballet
Tchaikovsky's GraveTchaikovsky's Grave
Tchaikovsky's Grave

Tikhivin Cemetary
Ringing the BellsRinging the Bells
Ringing the Bells

Alexander Nevsky Monastery
Showing off my movesShowing off my moves
Showing off my moves

Mariinsky Theatre


12th August 2009

Thanks for sharing........
Hey, those 3 guys u met on the train were real nice. Glad to know your princess enjoyed the show, even if a concert night wasn't in your list. But St. Petersburg is truly awesome! Where are you guys off to after this?
12th August 2009

Great blog!
I love your blog...as for you Mona, my little Leslie enjoy seeing the world...we travel mutliple ways...with Leslie, with Tiffany, and with Ma'ri...don't grow up to fast....there is so much to see. I only made it to St Pete in 1991....I was 17 at the time. And by the way, great pics! Peter
12th August 2009

Cool!
Sofia - I love reading about your travels! When I have a kid one day I aim to be as great as your Daddy is at taking him or her out and about around the world! I'm looking forward to your next adventure!
13th August 2009

These blogs are amazing! I love reading them and seeing the world through Sofia's eyes. What a lucky little girl to such an awesome daddy! She has grown up so much...she's adorable!
10th May 2011

So changed!
Wow, St Petersburg looks so different from all those centuries ago when I went to Leningrad on a school trip! You had to go with Inturist, never leave their watchful eye (although we did escape on night to see a ballet, no idea how we got away with that!) And certainly no Brittany. I would love to go back!

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb