Introducing myself to this all :D


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
September 9th 2014
Published: September 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Privet!!

Wow, my first-ever post in my first-ever blog.. How exciting!! :D

Just now choosing a continent, I couldn't decide whether to put "Europe" or "Asia".. In fact, Russia is "Euroasia", as we usually learn in school, but soon after going to Canada I realized that this word doesn't even exist in that part of the world :D Everyone considers it to be Europe, though I think it is not quite similar. Neither it is to Asia. So I am from a country that is veeeery different to the rest of the world. And even though we have our issues here, it is an amazing cultural heritage, with long history, customs, architecture and people.

This way, I would like to start by telling you a little bit about my country. I know, there are a lot of rumours about Russia being this mysterious country, with our president taking over people and not wanting to give it up. But, believe me, being Russian is not that bad 😊

Sometimes people ask me: "How is it back home?".. Well, it is always quite difficult for a Russian person to answer this question 😊 But it is even more difficult
Moscow centerMoscow centerMoscow center

In the middle - the Moscow State University, the best University in Moscow and is recognized internationally.
for me, as I moved to Canada when I was 16 and I really do not know the city well. Now I am spending some months here and I had friends visiting me so I am getting better 😊

When I talk to people, who tell me they want to visit my country I often ask which cities. It surprises me every time that people say St. Petersburg and do not mention Moscow. I have relatives living in both cities and can tell you for sure that Moscow is a city that shows Russian culture a little more deep. Moscow and St. Petersburg are the two cities that are located so close to each other but nevertheless are quite different. Both are the largest Russian cities and are centres for many international and local businesses. But the atmosphere is just different. The people, the architecture, the weather.. I love both cities, but as a tourist I consider it essential to visit Moscow. St. Petersburg was build by one emperor, who make it on the prototype of the European city - Amsterdam. Moscow, however, was building thousand years earlier and its architecture, style and feel is impregnated with culture and
Moscow CityMoscow CityMoscow City

A new curiosity of the city :)
history. In fact, Moscow is a city of endless possibilities and 24/7 lifespan. Here you can see equal amount of people hanging out in the park at 12 pm and at 12 am. It is amazing for everyone - those who enjoy nature, who like nightlife, for those who enjoy adventure and romantic walks. One thing though - you must like cathedrals and churches because you would need to visit a bunch of them here, that is a part of Russian experience :D No matter when you travel - winter or summer, it will be equally beautiful and fascinating. Here in Russia people do not care too much about snow: we always have a lot of festivals going on around the city, even on the coldest days. You just need to use warm shoes and a coat and you are all set! And one thing I can tell you - during winter (and especially at night) Kremlin actually looks so much more beautiful then in the summer! As a citizen, I love Moscow first and foremost for its beautiful architecture. Just look at the St. Basil's Cathedral - the symbol of Moscow. It is something that you may not find in any other place in the world! The Red Square, where the cathedral is located, is the number one thing that every tourist visits. When my friend from Venezuela came to visit me, that was our first destination and she loved it so much. Another thing we visited was Gorkiy Park. It is Europe's biggest park and usually has a lot of fun things going on. It's quite popular for sports among Muscovites in the summer and has a huuuge ice skating rink in winter. Yesterday, when I was meeting a friend, he brought me to Vorobievi Gori which is now going to be one of my favourite places to hang out. There is this awesome cableway that brings you down to the harbour front near the Moscow River, which was recently built. You can also go up from the bottom, where you will see the beautiful panoramic view of Moscow. At night there are lots of young people and.. bikers 😊

Once my foregn friend said that Moscow people are very cold, they often do not want to be engaged in the conversation. I laughed, but agreed. Frankly, it is one of those things that I find annoying. People sometimes think they are too "cool" to talk. Some older people just don't want to be bothered. For this reason do not expect good service at all places, especially if you are coming from USA or Canada. But do not take it personally! Moscow is still developing and people are still learning to like being helpful and polite. I also think that big part of their rudeness is due to the metropolitan life that they are getting irritated by... It is difficult to live in the city with over 12 million people!

Moscow has many places to visit and coming here for a coupe of days is definitely not enough, unless you want to run around from early mooring to the late evening :D But even then you can enjoy 😊

Things to consider:

- When travelog in September, be aware that there is Moscow city's birthday and everything around the Kremlin is fenced, what makes it extremely difficult to move around the city centre. One good things - the entrance to the Kremlin is free at that time 😊

- If you want to ask something in english it is best to ask younger people. Elder people might be able to help you in german but not in english :D

- Money is everything here. The more you can pay the more you can get so if you want to



Those are all my thoughts for now.. Let me know if you have any questions about anything! I would be so happy to help out!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb