God is amazing!


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
November 22nd 2008
Published: November 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Previet (hello) my Blog subscriber's and readers! So much has happend since the last time I blogged, so I thought I would update my blog before I have too much to convey at one time! The last major thing to happen was quite stressful but God worked in out in just a matter of minutes. How awesome is that? On Friday, Amber and myself were on our way to the State Museum at Red Square. As we were on the Metro I told her that my school was in the process of renewing my VISA. She said her school had not said anything to her about hers and it expired on Monday - less than three days! When we were back above ground she decided to contact her school and they told her to come to their office immediately. We immediately went back to MSU and while she was in their office I went to Cafe Max.

While I was on the internet she came in and said that she had some bad news. They told her that they were not going to renew her VISA unless she paid them $3,000! Amber tutors English privately and that is how she stays here in Moscow. They had previously told her she could pay them weekly, so this was terrible news. She was prepared to go pack and leave on Monday. I sent an email out asking people to pray about this situation. I know God is in control but I am still so new here I didn't know what I would do without Amber. Within minutes of sending the email God had provided the money from a very unlikely source, she only has to pay it back as soon as possible! Praise God for his provision. There is a huge work here and since the Missionaries cannot be here then we are all Moscow has.

Amber has been meeting people in her dorm since she arrived but I have not been able to meet anyone in mine. Partly because they don't congregate in my dorm like hers, but mostly because I can't speak Russian and I've yet to meet a good English speaker in my dorm building. So, I've been praying and telling God that He will have to let my path cross with people on the street. The very next day after praying this I met a man on my way from the Metro who spoke relatively good English. He struck up a conversation with me and then asked for my number so he could call me. Then, last night (Friday) we were invited to a church service in the Centre. There were about 150-200 people here and afterwards they had a fellowship. During this time I was able to meet several Americans (five from Oklahoma, one even from Broken Arrow!) and several Russians who spoke or are learning to speak English. I struck up a friendship with one of them and he offered to tutor me in Russian if I will tutor him in English. He also took my number, as well as another Bible School graduate. I know God is directing our paths to meet these people and I am believing for something great to come of our friendship!

I don't know how long Amber and I will be here. You never know with the VISA laws, plus finances are always a factor. But, I do know that as long as we are allowed to be in Moscow that we have a work to do. If we can just get several strong, established Holy Ghost filled believer's then they will be able to continue the work we cannot do. Please help me pray and believe for the doors to continue to open and that we will have the faith to walk through them. God is in control and He is proving that time and time again everyday! On, a lighter note...there are dogs everywhere in the city. Amber said they hold dogs in high regard and last night when we were exiting the metro we saw a bronze statue of a dog scratching its back with its hind leg - and around this statue people had laid fresh flowers!!

Until next time...


Advertisement



22nd November 2008

Could you talk with me English?
Could you talk with me English about something? I'll be so glad then! :-) I can come at everytime in everywhere in Moscow. My e-mail: ucx2014@mail.ru
24th November 2008

Dog statue
I bet you've seen it on Mendeleevskaya metro station (the one where gray line has transfer to circle line in the north). So here's story... There once (maybe 3 or 4 years ago) lived a dog in the underground passage just outside of Mendeleevskaya m.st. and everyone liked it, fed it, groomed it... Except one of kiosk vendors... And one day that kiosk vendor killed poor dog... I don't remember in which way, it makes no sence really... What makes sence is that in time it was first case when a person got punished by law for violence against erm... homeless animal (the ones that don't have owner) So that's what this statue is all about. Sorry for my english =)
24th November 2008

Still Following!
I know you are far from home and I know it is comforting to know that we are following you.... just wanted you to know that we are still checking in! PRAISE GOD for ANSWERING all the time!! AMEN. I am starting to feel like I know Amber... HEY GIRL!!! ha ha... God bless you guys!

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0621s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb