Thanksgiving 2007


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
November 26th 2007
Published: December 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Americans at ThanksgivingAmericans at ThanksgivingAmericans at Thanksgiving

This was a picture of all of us at the restaurant waiting on our table for all you can eat Thanksgiving dinner.
Again, I just have not had the time to enter the blog so I decided this evening after volleyball to come home and get at least several of these updated before I leave for Christmas.

We had a great time in Moscow for Thanskgiving dinner. I do not know if it was because it was my first year or the restaurant or what, but last year our time together meant more to me than this year. I had a great time and food was good (for the Russian's version of American Thanksgiving) but it just did not feel the same as last year. Maybe just a lot more going on at work, but I am still very glad to spend the time together with other Americans for Thanksgiving dinner.

It also did not stop me from going back 5 or 6 times to fill up my plate. I am sure they were all of the waiters and waitresses were putting bets on me to see how many times I would refill my plate. Most of the time it was with pumpkin pie but I did make a pig out of myself, that is for sure! The sweet potatoes were
It is ThanksgivingIt is ThanksgivingIt is Thanksgiving

Vince, "Dasha, don't you know, it is tradition to go back 5 times to get more food." Alan/Michael, "Where in the world does he put all of it?"
not sweet so I tried to add the sugar and spices to them to make them more real, but never could get it.

Last year we said and again this year, we should just cook at Alan's place so that way we can not complain about the food not tasting like real American Thanksgiving. Of course to do that, someone would have to take the day off and do most of the cooking and I think they nominated me or Michael. We know it is not Alan or Dasha but Alan has the biggest kitchen/place so we will try to remember ahead of time and do it at his place next year.


Hello to everyone and Happy Holidays. I will be flying home (Gainesville) on Friday, 21 December, then flying to my parents house (Ohio) on Christmas eve. I will then spend the time there before going to Cincinnati on Saturday for my cousin's wedding. I had such a good time here in Russia last year, I am flying back on Sunday so I can ring in the new year here in Russia. I hope everyone has a safe and healthly Christmas and New Year!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Dasha and MichaelDasha and Michael
Dasha and Michael

They did not eat near as much as I did, but I figured it was Thanksgiving, I am suppose to be stuffed driving in the car back to Obninsk.
Yuri, the ChefYuri, the Chef
Yuri, the Chef

Yuri, the chef, and Alan know each other well sort of like me and the Horseshoe Cafe, but a lot nicer restaurant. Yuri was on the front cover the local "Where" magizine.


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.024s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb