New Flat


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Obninsk
November 20th 2007
Published: December 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Off the ElevatorOff the ElevatorOff the Elevator

This is the view as you get off the elevator onto the 7th floor. My door is over to the right, but it is a warm welcome compared to my last flat. Plus my last flat did not have an elevator.
I started this blog almost a month ago, but never had pictures to go with and once I had pictures, I never had time to update the blog so finally after almost a month, here it is. I owe a huge thanks to Freddie for his help in finding it, working out the details, and just all of the time he took in the process to help! I am so glad we found this and got it all taken care of before I leave on Friday for the States.

We looked at several, all two rooms (one bedroom). The very first one looked nice, but was smaller for about the same price. This is not cheap, but compared to others we looked at, it was a great deal. I also love the location, walkable to most things I need in Obninsk. The other very nice thing, the landlords are very nice. I got to meet both along with their son and daughter. Their son speaks pretty good English but I enjoyed meeting and talking to both of them.

It was funny, at least to me, as we started talking price, I was asking for them to come down and/or
Swimming PoolSwimming PoolSwimming Pool

Here is my mini-pool. I still wish they would have put jets to it so it was a whirlpool, but it is sort of neat to say I have a swimming pool. It is about 4'x4'x4' but you can also take a shower in here, but I am never awake enough in the morning to climb the ladder in and out of the pool.
include all of the utilities. We had gone back and forth with each other and finally the husband said, "I feel like I am in Turkey." He may have meant it rude, but I got a big chuckle out it. They moved to Moscow due to his job. He was driving it everyday for several years and finally had enough so moved the family to Moscow but all of their friends are in Obninsk.

As for the flat, it is noiser than my others in that I hear my upstair neighbors a lot more than I ever heard at my other place, but so far no fireworks in the middle of the night going off although there is a little more road noise. Also, as nice as it was, it was pretty dirty. They obviously like dusting less than I do as everything is covered in dust/dirt. I could not stand the pink curtains so I took them down the first or second night and my hands were black after handling them. I hate to think how bright pink they would have been had there not been any dust on them. The was the other thing, after we (Dasha,
HallwayHallwayHallway

This the view as you walk in the door and look down the hallway. Again, very inviting.
Freddie and I) got done looking at it and get in the car, I ask Freddie and Dasha what they thought and both within a second said they love it and/or I should get it. I jokingly asked them if they wanted to think about it before giving me an answer...lol

The layout is sort of choppy but with it just me, it is not a big deal. I still take my time in the middle of the night so I do not run into anything, but I think the choppyness came about with them creating the swimming pool. Also so of the light switches are in the dumbest location, but I have pretty much learned where they are located and what turns lights on or off.

The bottom line, this place feels like a home and if that is not enough, my next door neighbor is going to change my image of Russians. Shortly after I was moved it, several of us where talking about the flat and making fun of Leo for "sleeping in" and not having to help when the door bell rings. It was my next door neighbor with a tray of hot coffee
Living RoomLiving RoomLiving Room

As you turn to the first room on the right after entering the flat, this is what I call the living room. Again, very warm and I put all of my Jack Daniels stuff around the TV on the shelves.
and candies to welcome me to my new flat/floor. A day or two later she brings me a big bowl of honey and then on Thursday brought me a plate full of home cooked pastry filled with me. I thought it was very nice of her.

Again, Freddie, thank you for your help finding this flat!

The new address: 44 Gagarina st. Obninsk, Kaluga 249190 Russia




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Kitchen Kitchen
Kitchen

The next room is the kitchen with heated floors. They are electric so I do not use them often, but they feel good on your feet on the cold winter days when you are in the kitchen cooking.
Kitchen2Kitchen2
Kitchen2

This is the view from the window side looking towards the hallway. The table folds out that you can sit and eat with 5 at the table. If just snacks and drinking we can get more, but to eat, the most would be 5.
Spare BedroomSpare Bedroom
Spare Bedroom

This is what I call the spare bedroom and/or the computer room. As you can see, there is a bed in here about the size of my other one so I have a place for guest to sleep. It is also carpeted which is nice.
BathroomBathroom
Bathroom

On to the bathroom. I am not exactly sure what space they gave up but I now have a small pool, extra large washing machine that actually dries when I turn on the heater to it, and a small bathtub. I wish this was heated floors but it is nice. The toliet is not convenient, but it is nice and close to the bedroom.
Master BedroomMaster Bedroom
Master Bedroom

Finally, my pink bedroom. I got rid of the pink curtains and took off the bedspread, which helped a lot, but as you can see the furniture still looks pink but with darker colors it toned it down a lot. The angle of the picture does not do it justice as there is a lot more room that what the picture shows.


21st December 2007

I think she likes me!
My neighbor that I thought was so nice well I think she has a hidden, maybe even a public agenda...I think she likes me. Last night, I brought both a small basket with coffee and candies along with a note explaining a little about Christmas in the US and giving gifts. The next thing I know here she comes over with a gift for me. That was fine, but she had on a ton of perfume. Then calls Denis to thank me and wish me Holiday greetings, etc. etc. etc. Had it not been for all of the perfume, I may feel different but I think she likes me (and I do not mean just as a neighbor...lol)!
21st December 2007

New housing
No confusions. New flat is nice =) Fred is great! I'm glad you are my 'neighboor' now and you are surrounded by good neighboors. New location is better because many various stores and shops are near from you now. BTW taxi from cafes will be cheaper for both of us ^_^. Only profits! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! /Obninsk gangster brigade/
26th December 2007

Is that a trailer?
My boss walked by while I was looking at the pictures of your new flat and asked, "Is that a trailer?". I laughed and told him no, it is just an apartment in Russia.
27th December 2007

And I like my Trailer
It is a little dusty, but I really like my new trailer...lol Which pictures did he see? I really think this one is a lot better than my last one. And compared to many I looked at and have been in, both are EXCELLENT. Of course, not quit like my home back in the States, but I have no complaints (other than the cost). I hope you have a wonderful Christmas. My cards were a little late this year, but I know my parents just got theirs so yours should be arriving shortly.
27th December 2007

The Trailer
My boss saw the picture of the kitchen with the fold down table. Makes sense, sort of :0) I'm looking forward to getting your card. Thank you! I'm sorry I missed your visit...I wasn't paying attention to your schedule. I didn't send you a Christmas card mostly because I wasn't sure, with you moving, where to send it. Anyway, I hope you have a lovely New Year, and good luck with your new position at the plant!

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb