Cafe Adventure


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Obninsk
November 10th 2007
Published: November 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Taxi RideTaxi RideTaxi Ride

This is not actually from Saturday night but the night of the Halloween Party, but it was as close as I had for some picture related.
I am sure everyone has heard of bar hopping, well how about cafe hopping? On Saturday, Freddie found me an apartment to go look at so we did. It was okay, but pretty worn down so I decided to pass. I am suppose to look at one this week that is three rooms (the same size as I have now) and recently remodeled which does not mean much to me any more. I guess tight wad Kramer should have gone with one of the first ones I looked at but thought was too expensive. I am finding out it is about the going rate for something decent. I am spoiled in the one I am living in now. I wish I could keep it, but the landlord wants it back for their son.

Anyways, after looking at the flat, we headed to a cafe. Once a week, Freddie, Leo and I usually meet someplace and now that the Horseshoe is closed for the winter, we are trying to find a new hang out with no luck. We made a list and have gone through all of them so it was not exactly planned, but as we looked for a hardware store, we also would stop in cafes to see what they were like. We found a few that we may go back to but nothing great. Then again, the Horseshoe Cafe I would not call great, but we made it that way by being regulars there. I have not put it as a criteria, but I should tell the flat agents that the flat must be within walking distance of the Horseshoe...lol So after making a full circle around the city, partly on foot partly on bus, we each headed home. It probably sounds boring to many of you reading this, but to be honest, it was a great way to spend the afternoon.

That evening, Leo invited me to join them for dinner at the Dublin Cafe. I was running late so I decide to get a cab and not go by bus. It is a flat rate, but the driver usually likes to know where you want to go so as I am standing in the door, I asked him "Dublin Cafe". He looks at me funny so I start to say "Dublin" in all sorts of ways so finally after 5 or 6 tries, he motions me to get in the car. So with my limited Russian, I tell him straight ahead, right, right, etc. About half way there he says, "Storm", I tell him no "Dublin". Thank goodness I knew where it was and I made it just fine. I gave him an extra tip for listening to me and trying to understand me...lol

Last week, I forgot to mention, I was invited to play in a volleyball tournament this week. It was a three day tournament and having taken four days off last week to go to Germany, I decided I could not take another two days off so quickly and declined. But I was honored to be asked to play.

Sorry, no pictures from the Cafe Adventure, but it was a lot of fun and if we find a new hang out, I will let you know!

Advertisement



21st November 2007

Found a new flat
I started to type a new entry so will post more there once I get some pictures, but I did find a new flat. I move in next weekend.
21st November 2007

Not many coffee shops
We do not have many coffee shops here. I think we have one true coffee shop here in Obninsk and then there is a chain of them called the Coffee House in Moscow. If I am not mistaken, StarBucks is opening one or has opened one, but I am not sure where it is located. Maybe we should start a chain, Zim-Coffee House ;) For some reason, sitting and drinking coffee is not popular here. Tea is but not coffee and the desserts are not that sweet, but that is slowly changing.
21st November 2007

Coffee House
I like the idea of the coffee house chain! I tell you, since Beijing, China has a Starbucks, there's bound to be one in Moscow.

Tot: 0.373s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb