One Month Left


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
November 9th 2006
Published: November 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Exactly one month from today I will be home. Right now I'm feeling like I'm going to be more than ready when the time comes to leave. I'm enjoying Moscow and have been seeing a lot lately. However, my hozyaika is really starting to irritate me. Most of the time she is really nice, likes to have long talks with me, and often lets me try different things she cooks (even though I don't pay for food). But I think my hozyaika has lived alone way too long and thinks that there is one right way to do any particular thing. When I fail to follow the particular right way she gets upset and will lecture me forever, not listening to what I say, and will continue lecturing me until I walk away.

This is a partial list of the One Right Way to Live:

Never wash your hair more than once a week (it is bad for your hair to wash it more and your hair will fall out when you get old if you wash it more than once a week)
Don't use hot water when taking a shower, use only lukewarm water (condensation should not appear on the mirror or walls)
Never wash your hair on a Sunday or holiday (it brings bad luck)
Change into pajamas as soon as you step foot in the house. Never, ever sit down on a seat before you have changed (wearing street clothes in the house makes everything dirty)
Never buy food on the street (people from the caucauses sell food on the street, and you shouldn't trust them)

And there are many other things she has told me to do, though doesn't get upset when I don't follow them. Such as:

Eat bread with a slice of butter in the morning (the butter will make you warm during the day)
If you are sick only eat chicken or fish (pigs and cows know when they are about to die, unlike chickens, so all sorts of bad things are released into their bodies right before they die).
Drink hot tea a half an hour before you eat breakfast

I will be very glad when I am home and don't have to worry about all of this. The things that she tells me to do that are easy to follow I follow. But I'm certainly not going to wash my hair just once a week.

Anyway. We didn't have school on Monday in celebration of the Revolution. No one had classes on Monday. There were all sorts of protests all over the city. Most protests were from old people who wanted to have communism again. Some students in my group also saw a bunch of skinheads trying to break up the communists and starting their own fascist rally. And then there was a small group of people holding an anti fascist rally.
I stayed away from the rally for safety's sake, so I didn't see anything. I just know what people have told me.
Instead I went to the internet cafe and spent some time there. It was quite the popular place to be on Monday. Though none of us had any intention of meeting up, three other students from the group were already there when I came.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb