Back in Moscow


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
November 4th 2006
Published: November 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me and the MilitaryMe and the MilitaryMe and the Military

Oksana took the picture. And yes that really is a tank to the right
It has been interesting to hear everyone's tales of their adventures. Other students traveled to Romania, Hungary, Estonia, Amsterdam, Israel, and England. Ironically enough the only student who had a serious problem during her trip went to England. Someone stole her purse on the metro. In it was all her money, her passport, Russian visa, and other important documents. Without these documents she cannot return to Russia. So for the last week she has been going to the American embassy everyday waiting for her new documents to arrive. She is still in England.
Things have been going okay since I got back. I miss Ukraine a lot. It was so nice to live as part of a family for a while. And I miss the warmer weather-it is getting pretty cold here. And of course I miss Kolya. I'm thinking about going back to Ukraine in a few weeks, just for the weekend.
The most exciting thing that happend this week was that Bob Machalot, my dad's college buddy, came to Moscow. He is traveling on the trans-siberian railway and came to Moscow to visit. He took me out to the most incredible Georgian restaurant. It was so interesting the hear his stories and the food was delicious.
Today was also pretty good. I met up with Oksana, a Russian student I met on the train. We walked around Red Square a bit and took pictures. Today is a holiday so there were tons of military people out. Everyone was taking pictures of the military so I decided to join in. One group of military guys called out to us, asking if I wanted to take a picture of me with them. So of course I said yes.
I'll put the picture online as soon as I can, it is hilarious.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Boots in a storeBoots in a store
Boots in a store

Notice that a lot of the boots have fur


5th November 2006

Genna I'm so jealous of your "Moskovskii zhizn'!" :-) Everything seems so new and different -- even if some of those new and different things are bad, at least it's not the same old boring thing over and over here in Ann Arbor. Hearing about your experiences has made me even more antsy to go to Russia than I ever was before! I'm tempted to stop reading your journal simply because every time I do, I am so disappointed that I'm stuck here in America! ;-)

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb