Playing catch-up.


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Yaroslavl
November 7th 2005
Published: January 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My 8.30 wake up call came at 9.30 this morning - Tamara Aleksandrovna still has not changed her clocks.

I finished unpacking my bag, uploaded my Moscow photos onto my laptop then walked to the internet room on prospekt Lenina to write up my weeks' travels. How I had missed my life-line! It took five hours. By the time I had finished writing it was dark; today is warmer than when I left but the evenings are getting much shorter. Rain has washed all the snow away, as if it had never happened. I bumped into Chiara and we walked back to our neighbourhood, swapping stories about Moscow and Novgorod.

It was just the day I wanted. As much as my Russian has improved for speaking it for an entire seven days I needed a rest. My head had some time to catch up with my body. Tamara Aleksandrovna made me fried potatoes and a huge boiled sausage for tea and told me about the German invasion of Moscow on this day in 1941. I was too tired to talk much but it was enjoyable to listen to, told in the way that only the Russian elderly can.

Apparently there is no homework for either Viktor or Olga tomorrow, so I also have this evening to relax before school tomorrow.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0866s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb