Please do not disturb.


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Yaroslavl
November 1st 2005
Published: January 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I didn't get to watch the film last night. As I was going home from the internet room at the prospekt Lenina house of culture I heard a loud gurgling sound from an alley off ulitsa Nekrasova. When I walked closer I found a man lying in the ice, choking from a neck wound made by a knife or a bottle. The top half of his body was covered in blood, and he was fighting to breathe through a stream of blood over his throat. I asked people on the street for help but - being Russians - they walked past because it wasn't their problem. I ran to the nearest supermarket, told a grumpy woman what had happened as best I could, asked her to phone for an ambulance then hurried home.

I'm making the most of some time off before my four days in Moscow so I got up late again today. Breakfast was spaghetti mixed in with porridge, which I refused. I started packing for my trip - everything I need fits in my school bag as I'm travelling light. I spent the afternoon tidying my room and watching 'Love Actually' in Russian. There wasn't anything I wanted to do outside and for once I'm not feeling very sociable. I'm still shaken after last night, and the changing weather has made me feel ill.

Bed-time is 9 o'clock tonight, my train is at 7 in the morning so I need to be out of the flat by 6.30!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0981s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb