I'm an Englishman, get me out of here.


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Yaroslavl
September 19th 2005
Published: January 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yartek.Yartek.Yartek.

The language school.
Tamara Aleksandrovna said there would be blini for breakfast.

What I actually found on the table was: the boiled sausage and salted potatoes that I would have had yesterday if I wasn't at the match, that had been on the window sill all night, another cheese choc-ice with a strawberry centre, and a boiled egg with a crack down the side. When she saw how little I had touched she told me the way I eat was "wrong". To make things worse I fell in the shower, steadied myself on the sink and ripped it out of the wall, so on my walk to Yartek I didn't have to fake my miserable face. I think I've acclimatised reasonably well to the Russian way of life, but my diet is making me lethargic and queezy. She doesn't realise that my habits - what and how I eat for example - are very different to here. Tamara Aleksandrovna is a kind person and she's been good to me, but being treated as a grandson is suffocating. And four more months is a long time living the way someone tells you to.

However school was good. I had Yulia for translation and Larissa for media, with a biker café coke and a pizza with Chris J in between. Natasha, A girl I met at Indigo, called me after classes while the group were still talking, and when I came back into the room Precious had drawn her in chalk on the whiteboard! When any of us are struggling to find some energy we all look to Precious, who breathes life into anything she says and can never keep still.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0885s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb