A Russian delicacy.


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Yaroslavl
September 8th 2005
Published: January 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ulitsa Svobody at dusk.Ulitsa Svobody at dusk.Ulitsa Svobody at dusk.

The biggest Church in my neighbourhood. Turn left to get to Shinnik and Yartek, straight on for Hotel Evropa and ulitsa Kirova.
My breakfast was kasha with smetana, porridge with sour cream mixed in, a cup of nescafé and - honestly - a cheese flavour choc-ice.

There were four hours of conversation and grammar classes, then I went to a kiosk to buy a loaf of baked sugar bread and a big bottle of apricot juice for lunch. I had my first balalaika lesson at 4 but I think it will also be my last. I don't like the man who teaches it and I will not be able to play well in just eighteen weeks. Chris J has taken to it though, and is even thinking about incorporating a balalaika into his band, Subfunc, when he gets home.

I think the last week is catching up on me because some of the Russian habits are becoming less charming and more annoying. When you're speaking to them you have their full attention, and they will do everything they can to make you feel comfortable, but when it's their turn to talk I can't get a word in edgeways. Everyone has a very stereotyped vision of England. They know nothing about our culture. Russians also don't respect privacy as we do in England; Tamara Aleksandrovna is always rummaging through my things to sort them when they were fine as they were. And there are always questions about what it is and how much things cost. It will take a bit longer to get used to Russian priorities.

So far I have described Yaroslavl as both beautiful and untidy, both poor and rich, and the people as both welcoming and distant - a contradiction I know, but that is how it seems. And it has made it tough to adapt.

Advertisement



8th September 2005

way to go jon :)
hey jon! just read all your journals! i'm so impressed by your positive attitude and how well you seem to be doing! It's such an achievement to be living there after only speaking it for 2 years! It's really cool reading your diary, it's really funny and atmospheric. I'm having a great time in Paris. It's pretty good weather and the city is beautiful, i've been pretty busy seeing/experiencing stuff, but still have loads to see yet. by the way are u still checking your hotmail account? neways i'll be in touch soon, lots of love jen jen xx

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.107s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb