Obninsk Family


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Obninsk
October 23rd 2007
Published: October 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Wow has it been a busy two weeks here in Obninsk/Naro-Fominsk. Last week I met one of my blog readers from the United States. Charley was researching some things about Russia, Obninsk, etc. and came across my blog. We chatted a little and when he told me he was coming to Russia to help a friend do some welding at some chicken plant that is when I realized he was coming to Elinar-Broiler. I ended up having them all five over for a good home cooked American meal so I put a big meatloaf in the crockpot and made microwaved scalloped potatoes. I have never made scalloped potatoes in the microwave, but they turned out great along with some mixed vegetables and bread pudding for desert. I had a little leftover so I am hoping everyone got enough to eat. My kitchen and kitchen supplies are just not big enough to feed that kind of meal to that many people; two or three is doing pretty good...lol

Then this past weekend I was invited to Freddie's flat to join him, his brother and mother for tea. When I get there, they put out a feast for me. Andrey and I agreed we needed to stick with just tea/coffee as the past few meetings there has been too much alcohol involved. It was great - thank you Freddie, Andrey, and your mother! We talked about a little of everything and found our mothers have a lot in common, they were both school teachers by education, stayed at home to raise their children, like the smaller towns to the larger cities, and like to cook, sew, etc. So Mom, you are invited if and when you ever come to Obninsk Russia for tea/coffee at Andrey and Freddie's home. Although we did not sit around the kitchen table like we would have at home, but we did sit around just sharing stories and experiences. It made me feel like home and before I could leave they insisted on giving me a small gift even after hosting the "party".

I am also busy looking for a new apartment since I decided to stay another year and I have to be out of my flat by January. Freddie has been helping with that as well. I thought I found one the husband seem to be reasonable but sent his wife to the contract signing and then all things broke loose. Masha, who is a temporary translator for us, did not deal well with the wife. I must say she (the wife) was very pushy and did run over Masha. I was glad Freddie was along to help. There were a few times Freddie stepped right in to explain my concern, but they wanted me to sign a six month and not worry about the next lease, "assuming you are a good tenent, the rent will not go up more than a one or two thousland rubles." I told them let's put that in the contract because I taking the full risk with this and they were assuming none! The wife told me I could pay all of it up front in cash and she would write a 14 month lease until the end of my contract and I could do that over the next couple of days. I did not laugh on the outside, but did on the inside. I thought she was crazy!

Now for the biggest news, I am now the acting Director of Processing. The current director is out for surgery or something and is going to be out for awhile so Alan asked me to step in. I did not know that was coming and Alan told me in a group so there was not much I could say at that point. In some ways I am excited, but not in the middle of a major installation. That has been nothing but a huge headache! I am working my old hours (like I was in the US), but just starting earlier (6:30 AM) and for those that know me well, I hate getting up early. There is a lot of work to do and in some ways, it is a lot of fun, but also a lot of work! Speaking of which, I need to get to bed so I can get up.

Take care!



Advertisement



23rd October 2007

1st :P Shame on me! I should take active part in finding new appartment for U. Before I start it, I'll call Freddie and co-operate with him =)
24th October 2007

Do Not Worry
I appreciate the offer and will take all the help I can get, but do not worry. I still have plenty of time and this was only the second one I looked at so I (we) will find one soon (for the price I am willing to pay).

Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.044s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.119s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb