Halloween in Russia


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Obninsk
October 28th 2007
Published: October 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Thanks Guys!Thanks Guys!Thanks Guys!

Thank you to (from left to right) Leo, Oleg, Egor, and Max for a great time last night! Dr. Gary Butcher, one of our consultants at Elinar-Broiler was there and took the picture for us, even though he did cut out Max.
Halloween in Russia is not quite the same as in the States, but I know we had a good time. The old grocery store (Dom dyla Doma) which is closed for remodeling, hosted a Halloween Party. One of my friends asked me if I wanted to go and I figured what the heck so I told a few of my other friends, who were all interested as well. I decided to invite everyone to my house first so we could have a few drinks before going to the club and paying high prices for drinks.

When everyone got here (~10:00), they told me there was already a line out front. It was funny, as we were having drinks someone asked me what is Halloween and why dress up. I say it is funny in that most of us had no idea about the theme other than there was a discount if you dressed up so we talked a little bit about it. After a few drinks, we headed over to the party (11:00), but could not get in because of the number of people. The place was packed with people inside and outside! I have not seen that many people
Crowd to Get InCrowd to Get InCrowd to Get In

I have never seen this many people in one place in Obninsk. I bet it was a great party inside!
all in one place in Obninsk. Oleg was able to get to the front and we tried using "the American" card, but that did not work. They did not care I was an American. We we headed to the back where the VIP entrance was, but that cost 1000 rubles ($40) for Obninsk! That is crazy. Again, Oleg tried to use the American card with the door man who did speak some English so Oleg had me talk to him, but that still do not do us any good. We decided since everyone was at this party, we would go to a different club. Guess what, there was a line there as well. Oleg being the good Russian pushed his way to the front but every time the door opened to let people in, Oleg was not able to get in. I told him his bonus (at work) depended on him getting us so after a bunch of pushing Oleg finally gets in and calls us. You should have seen it when they tried to let us in and no one else.

Inside, we had a good time dancing. There were not a lot of customes, but the few
TranslatorTranslatorTranslator

This was at the side entrance where it cost 1000 rubles to get in, but we did meet Kat. We did not know her until that point, but I was trying to tell her Egor (standing to my right) was my translator. I do not think she believed me and I have no idea what Egor was telling her, but we had fun talking with her and she ended up at the other club with us.
that were there, were mostly mad doctors/nurses and dead people. There were a few angles and a few of I do know what, but bottom line, I had a great time. That was the first I have been dancing in awhile and I had a great time. I did not care so much about the Halloween part of it as much as I just wanted to go out with friends, dance a little, and have a great time, which it all happened. Thanks to photographer Leo, here are a few pictures.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Taxi ExperienceTaxi Experience
Taxi Experience

Before we got in this taxi, they had to push start it, yes push start it. Our "GPS" was a map taped to the ceiling of the it, I am just glad the driver did not have to use it while driving...lol Then, after we went around the turn about, we stopped, which I could not figure out since we were just on the other side of the road from where we got in. That is when the driver and Oleg jump out to push start another taxi car (Lada). What an experience!
Push to Get InPush to Get In
Push to Get In

This is where we all pushed at one time when the door opened to try to get in. I am sure it was not safe and would break most fire codes in the US, but it was another fun story to tell especially when I am yelling to Oleg that his bonus rides on him getting us in the club.


28th October 2007

Hell-o?!-win
We had a great time, that's true. :) OMG I was almost mad at the Arena club entrance. I felt cold and tired because of penetrating crowds of people to get in a club. Thanks to God that "american card" worked for Arena. I hope, Vince, you had a lot of Russian organized chaos experience. =) "Thanks to photographer Leo, here are a few pictures." you're welcome!
28th October 2007

Save the Innocant
Yes, some of the pictures were selectively not included to save the innocant! Thanks again!
26th October 2009

wat the heck
the do some CRAZY things on halloween

Tot: 0.417s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb