Going through withdrawals


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania
July 16th 2006
Published: July 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello
I know everyone is having a great summer. I wish i was there. Esp for the fourth.
July is on the downslide. I have been gone nearly 7 months. Wow...

I am in Romania now. OHhh how i miss Anatolia

I miss my town and the mountains. I miss the food and the people. I miss the times and the purity.

My last few days in my town were good. I was asked to be a guest teacher at the summer school for English. People of all ages, from all around the region came and were split into 3 different levels of ability. I was happy to go and mainly answered questions and gave proper pronunciation to everything. They couldn't believe an American was there living and in their class. I thank my friend Attila Hakhan, The Godfather, for asking me to attend as a guest (Hoca) teacher ... pronounced hojaa.

I left after saying goodbye and feasting with all the people i had come to know. I am so glad and fortunate that i had the opportunity in my life to live and learn the way there. I know i will return and will share it with you.

After all day in a bus, i got to the city that night. I was smashin a kebab when a university student asked me my name. We spoke turkish for a bit, then his questions became too complicated. Then it turned to english, which he knew a little of. His friend was to see him off and then i was invited to stay and eat at a Hostel for Turkish teachers, scientists, and Islamic spiritual hoca's. They all come togethere there in the summer and speak and talk about Islam among other topics. I was a guest and i loved my time there. I learned even more from them. Very intelligent individuals.

The next morning after a great breakfast, we were all given a tour of the city. I was given a foot tour of the inner, old city that afternoon. After dinner I caught my ride to the village i was heading to in Capadoccia.
If you don't know anything about this place. A landscape not of this world. Unique like SE Utah is unique.

The full moon was rising then and that area had an energy about it. I loved it there. My runs into the valley were amazing. Wait till you see my pics sometime.
I was offered a job leading hiking trips into the wicked valleys of formations and mountains. But he needed a 2 month commitment and my 2 months in Anatolia (Turkey) were up. Would have to be around tourists too.

I watched the World Cup final. Great game. But what the hell was Zidane thinking. Last match of his career. Going out like that???
Too bad. They needed his boot for PK's

San Fermin is rolling now. Almost over i think. I was going to run again in Pamplona, but had to cancel it and my time in Greece. Turkey was just too good. But I will make in back there. What a time... I think i read a local was gored and might of died. Head on a swivel mate... !!

Byzantium......Constantinopolis......Istanbul


A great city with as much history as Rome or Athens. Glorious it is. I enjoyed my time there but knew my time in Anatolia was up.

Never has my exploration and the rewards and discoveries been so pure and real. Never has a culture been so distinct, vivid, and rich. Even Mongolia.

I will miss it all. Many stories. Many new ways of thinking. Concepts and ways i will make effort to incorporate into my daily life. As should you.

I rolled up into Eastern Europe. I travelled through Bulgaria on my way to Romania. I had a cabin to myself for most of those 23 hours. It was a warm, sunny day. The rhythmic sound of the train rollin over the tracks. Bulgaria is covered with rolling fields of wheat and corn and sunflowers. Wallacia the same. I layed and read the summer day away. (A found copy of The Education of Little Tree!! ...made me right again)...

I got into Bucharest but its nothing special. So, now i am here and will head up into the mountains in the morning. Transylvania has much lore and beauty.

I will in Poland by next weekend.
So, I guess I will talk to you again there.

Keep your eyes along the skyline...

Love
Jonathan



Advertisement



Tot: 0.319s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb