What He Said.


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania » Cluj » Cluj-Napoca
August 1st 2008
Published: August 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Priests Priests Priests

thats about it.
Greetings.
I just got back from my trip to the Orthodox service. TOTALLY different than I expected on every level. First, I thought Orthodox -> Dress nicer then regular church -> no sneakers or open toed shoes, so I wore my 2/5 inch heels.... BIG mistake!! The service was outside on a hill. Mind you, this was outside in the middle of nowhere meaning they didn't pave any kind of road or maintain the lawn. So I'm hanging out in my jeans and heels trying not to fall over or roll my ankle as I'm prone to do.
Next, in an effort to dilute the flamboyant tourist motif I've been giving off, I decided to fit in and wear a head scarf like everyone else. That plan was kind of blown when Ioana was joking around and said I looked more like a Muslim than Orthodox... SO that idea didn't quite pan out either.
Then the best part. So Today is Friday which means they don't eat meat. So I had a really great bean soup sort of meal. Anyone who's seen Blazing Saddles knows where this is going. No... it wasn't quite as explicit, but, at a certain point in
Orthodox AlterOrthodox AlterOrthodox Alter

do you think they had an electronic wood cutter for that?
the ceremony we're told to squat or kneel down for some reason, I dont know exactly because it was in Orthodox talk. So I'm in relatively tight jeans, squatting, trying to balance, after eating a buncha beans. I honestly think what I wanted to do would have been much more offensive then standing but whatever, I went with it.
So after all that I just tried to take in as much of the experience as possible considering I didn't understand anything. It was a very nice ceremony though I am sure.
Also, I took some photos but the connector thingy to my camera card or something is acting up so I'll try to have photos up asap.
Goodnight and Good Morning,
Va Iubesc!
Jenisa


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Wall MuralWall Mural
Wall Mural

Kind of puts our wall stickers to shame.
Proud MaryProud Mary
Proud Mary

Ceiling Painting.


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb