"It's Friday Already??"


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania » Cluj » Cluj-Napoca
August 1st 2008
Published: August 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Those were my exact words today at lunch when I was talking to Ioana about weekend plans.
My first week with the kids came to an end with lots of smiles and fun times. We started to play hangman or, "spanzuratoare" (try saying that 10 times fast). The kids had a great time with that and I learned that the same techniques to get kids to shut up in America work on kids in Romania. Give them a stuffed animal and whoever has the stuffed animal speaks, thats it. 😊
Then we went down to the grassy area and played ratsa ratsa gooska...again. I think they like that game, just a little bit. They played a few local games as Ioana and I helped introduce a new worker here to the building and whatnot. The kids had the most fun it seemed playing telephone. However, all hell broke loose when we tried to introduce English words to the game. Somehow tree turned into pork as the word for tree in Romanian sounds too much like lunchmeat for the kids to handle.
Then, we took the kids out to the big field and let them run loose. The boys played soccer and the girls played with bubbles. I'm thinking they don't see many of those as well as they went absolutely crazy for them. It was very cute!
Onto lunch and then some mild tic-tac-toe action. Ioana and I then taught the kids "As Long As You Love Me" by the Backstreet Boys. Once they mastered that I showed them some dance moves. Watching kids try to dance "hip-hop-ish" is the funniest thing ever. We have a couple of p-diddy's on our hands I think.
Lastly, we finshed our Friday off with some name-that-tune. The kids tried humming songs and guessing.. self explanatory.
Then I wished the kids a good weekend, hugged them all goodbye. I'll be seeing them soon, on Monday.
Tonight, Ioana and I will be going with her sister to an Orthodox Prayer Service, at midnight! It should be interesting. I know nothing about it at this point but I'll be sure to take down plenty of mental notes.
Va Iubesc!
Jenisa

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb