Day 2 Part 2


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania » Cluj » Cluj-Napoca
July 31st 2008
Published: July 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

IraIraIra

My new friend
Okay so I knocked out last night and didn't get a chance to write about the rest of my day.
After I had a nap, I had my greatest accomplishment thus far; buying soap and shampoo at the local store. The girl who helped me was awesome and super nice. It's amazing what saying "I'm American" or "Sunt Amerikahn" (sp?) can do when you're totally confused. So once I mastered the art of Romanian grocery shopping.. I changed and awaited Ioana's return.
Ioana and I decided to hit the town for a bit. While waiting, I made friends with a kitty who I named Ira... yea I don't remember why but it sounded good at the time. We tracked down the bus station but the ticket box was closed so we hopped on the bus and hoped for the best that they wouldn't check tickets, which they did not, lucky us!! She took me to the top of a monster hill that had about a million or so steps to get to the top. After our buns-of-steel exercise, we made it to the top and were able to overlook the city at night. While the pictures didn't come out so
Hotel BelvadereHotel BelvadereHotel Belvadere

note: 4-star hotel.
well, just imagine Europe at night.. and thats about what it looked like. At the top of the hill was a)lovers point where local folk come to be all romantic-like. and b)the Hotel Belvadere which is a 4-star hotel and they're not afraid to tell you so (see photo).
After that we went on to Ioana's friends house, I couldn't quite catch her name but I know she works at the school I am at. After playing puppets with her daughter Daria, I joined Ioana and her friend for some girl-talk and drinks in the living room. I tried a local drink which is called something in Romanian and whoa. I'm pretty sure I can handle burbon and whisky without flinching now after having some of that!! Phew, I'll bet you could put it on an open wound and save yourself a trip to the hospital if ever injured. I followed that taste of Europe with another liquor which is basically chocolate syrup with chocolate powder and more chocolate syrup, oh yea, and a touch of alcohol. I think I would have really enjoyed that when I was younger and made syrup-like mixes that were super duper rich. It helped coat my throat though which was on fire from the other stuff. I also ate some typical Romanian food which was OH SO YUMMY. I have NO idea what it was really or how it was prepared but it was certainly something I had never ever tasted before. By the end of the outing Ioana and I were both falling asleep on our toes so we went to bed. Thats all for day 2... onto day 3...

Advertisement



31st July 2008

WOW!!!!!
Talk about Life Experience !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Love ya, Mom

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb