Day 2...afternoon


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania » Cluj » Cluj-Napoca
July 30th 2008
Published: July 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ratsa Ratsa GuskaRatsa Ratsa GuskaRatsa Ratsa Guska

duck duck goose to everyone else
So I just finished up my very first day with the kids, who are so awesome!! It's pretty crazy how many of them have never met an American, quite the responsibility to prove we're cool people. So, from the begining of the day....
We started out by introducing eachother and learning names. (as though it's not hard enough when the names are familiar in English....) Then we went outside where I tought them red-rover red-rover. the best thing ever was that they couldn't quite get the American "r" sound down, so they said land-rover land-rover. SO great! I then showed them duck-duck-goose which in Romanian is Ratsa Ratsa Gu(oo)ska. The kids enjoyed that greatly.
We then wondered inside and we split the kids into 2 rooms so they would fit comfortably. There's maybe 20 kids so trying to fit them all in one room is a little chaotic. Then Ioana and I bounced between the rooms as monitors. I had the kids draw a picture of their families (familia) and outside. The pictures were fantastic and as they were drawing I was able to teach/learn the english word and romanian word. A little vocab lesson was very fun. PLUS, I'm excited
Pictura Class/VocabPictura Class/VocabPictura Class/Vocab

yea... thats just me teaching...
to look over some of the drawings and be my usual psychologist and analyze the pictures to get an idea of the kid's lives... I can't help it after 5 years of psych classes.
After a snack break, Ioana had the kids look at maps of Cluj and write down points of interest I shouldn't miss from a Romanian perspective, such a great idea! Not only do I get an idea of what to do but the kids can familiarize themselves with where they live. Then (thanks to Connie and her husband) I showed the kids how to salsa dance. Of course they're at the age where everyone had cooties so they paired themselves up accordingly despite Ioana and my best efforts. We also let the rock out to some american songs... Under the Sea and Barbie Girl to name a couple.
THANK GOODNESS... on Wednesday and Friday (i think) they don't eat meat so my stomach got a rest. We had a potato stew sort of thing with bread and peppers that was absolulty amazing!!! I ate too much again.
So that's the first half of my day. It's off to take a nap as I'm still not entirely
What to do...What to do...What to do...

some of the boys help me out a bit
used to the time change yet. I'll follow up with the rest of the day later on.
XoXo
Va Iubesc!!!
jenisa


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Salsa!!!!Salsa!!!!
Salsa!!!!

so great!


30th July 2008

Day 2
Thanks for the updates - enjoying them. We never completely give up our kooties. We just learn to make them look different. Uncle Joe

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb