Ciuperci....


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania » Brasov » Brasov
July 16th 2006
Published: July 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So I eat lots of mushrooms in Romania. Because there aren't many vegetarian-friendly dishes. But there are lots of mushroom dishes. I can't complain. I really like mushrooms.

Also, I could never live in Romania. There are too many stray dogs and I would just take them home with me. I would be like Ace Ventura Pet Detective, completely surrounded with dirty, smelly, mean dogs. How glorious, haha.

Finally, my back is like an aligator's. I'm peeling like crazy. And. Two days ago I was oozing from my back. I think I had little blister things. It was gross, but I sort of secretly thought it was cool. But don't tell anyone: it's a secret.

Anyway, we're in Brasov right now. We just arrived today from Sighisoara, which was a rather small town where Dracula was born. We also ate dinner in his childhood home. Pretty cool. Tomorrow we're exploring Brasov and the next day we're going to tour Bran Castle and then leave for Bucharest (the 18th). We're in Bucharest for two nights, and then the third evening (the 20th) we'll be taking an overnight train to Istanbul, Turkey (arriving there on the 21st). Fun fun.

Oh, I just also thought I should keep everyone who was worried updated on the safety situation here. There are definitely some gypsy type people here, and we've been asked for money/food a few times, but we both feel completely safe walking around. We hear that most crime here is petty theft: definitely not violent in any way. And I keep all of my cards and most of my money in my money belt thing (thanks Baba!!), so my wallet being stolen wouldn't be an issue. In summary, yes, I'm fine and yes, I feel safe. So no worries.

When more events unfold and we actually visit things here, I'll keep you more updated.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb