Oh my shepherd!!


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania » Cluj » Cluj-Napoca
July 14th 2006
Published: July 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So one interesting thing from today: Jeff and I went to this restaurant called Roata. We're in Cluj-Napoca, Romania, by the way. And so we go to this restaurant because it's supposed to be pretty authentic Romanian food, however there is no English menu, nor any English translations.

So I ask the waiter boy what foods have no meat in them. He shows me a vegetable soup and then this thing called "ciuperci ciopersti" or something. I know from my half-a-day of experience in Romania that "ciuperci" means mushrooms, so I ask him what is with the mushrooms.

He explains it to me like this: "Uhhm, you know uhh men?? Uhhh with the uhhhm uhh sheep??" And I was just like, OOOHHHhh, ya, okay, I'll have that; pretending to understand where he was going with that. He was really nice and everything, and a super cute young man whose English was pretty good, but I just thought that was really funny. Basically, I was ordering mushrooms cooked with shepherds, lol.

Okay, and beyond that, I leave for Sighisoara tomorrow. I'm there for one night. Then it's off to Brasov for two nights, and Bucharest for another two. Next destination: Istanbul.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb